Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Ramblings

Wow, it appears Blogger has made some improvements.  When last I was here, if you accidentally moved from the draft page, you lost what you were typing.  However, it seems that now it is saved automatically.  Great!

Below is original...skip it.  I'll just delete the second one

It has been awhile.  I've been so out of it that I seem to just be making matters worse.  Also, there are the purchased that I wanted to write about, but as the list piled up, the procrastinator in me kept putting it off.  There were shows that I also wanted to write about.

Well, this is getting long.  Long story short, I'm going to try to resume blogging from this moment.  I'll try filling in past comments as I remember then...if I remember them.  I now have a tablet and a smart phone which will let me blog part of the way on my commutes.  Also, tomorrow, I will be getting braces for my teeth and I thought that blogging about the pain might be useful.  No, just kidding...sort of.  I just thought it would be interesting to keep a journal about the process.  I was told that until my mouth adjusts to the braces, I will lose some weight. 

I saw a few Broadway shows over then last few months (including Adams Family with Brooke Shields, How to Succeed in Business..with one of the Jonas Brothers, and Sister Act). 

Today I went to see The Lion King on Broadway.  Below is a cut and paste of my review of the experience:

If you are a diehard fan of Broadway, then I don't think you will be disappointed. Since I'm learning to be a fan, I still have a way to go. I thought the production was great, the costumes too. I thought the actors also did wonderful jobs. Unfortunately, not being a big fan of musicals, I got a bit bored at times especially when the slow songs started. I also thought the finale was a bit of a let down when the previous number(s) seemed so much better. I thought the scene when Simba's father talks to him and Simba realizes that he has to return was a more exciting part of the show, more exciting than the finale. I was also a bit annoyed that in a modern theater that made the rows more spacious from the next row in front. However, they still designed the seats too closely packed together. Even when your hands are in your lap (and elbows are NOT on the arm rests), you are still rubbing against the person next to you. Crazy!

Saturday, October 01, 2011

Spiderman - Turn Off the Dark (Review)

I thought the show was entertaining. I thought the sets were great. I think I would have enjoyed the show more if I had gotten better seats -- Unfortunately, I waited until the last minute to get my ticket. I was was in the back balcony in the second to last row, in the corner, with the guide rail blocking my view. If I didn't have my binoculars, I probably would have been really annoyed. As for the show itself, I thought it was nice. Not being a real Broadway goer, I'm not the best person to comment. Personally, I thought there were too many slow songs. At times, it was hard to tell if the cast were singing or if it was a sound track -- probably from being so far back. I thought the actors played their roles well. I thought the Green Goblin received the best lines/ moments in the show. I wanted to take photos, but no picture taking was allowed, not even before the show started. So, the photos I'm going to upload were taken from the internet. However, the outside photos are mine.

https://picasaweb.google.com/jannxb/SpidermanTurnOffTheDark#

Thursday, December 30, 2010

And it is also a paperweight...

Imitation ipad Update.

I ended up turning on the device last night.  I was pleased that it worked.  I looked more closely at the directions and was not pleased.  The fonts are waaay too tiny. A large portion of the diagrams and the text are written in Chinese.  The text is LOADED with grammatical errors.  Either the text was sent through an automatic free online translation program, or the directions were translated by someone who hasn't quite mastered the English language yet.  First time, I've ever had a manual be virtually useless.  It doesn't so much gives steps as it tells you what the device can do.  The touch screen is nice and very responsive.  I was disappointed that the accessories didn't seem to work.  I thought if I couldn't get onto the internet with the device, I could just transfer programs through the USB cord.  Nope.  I thought I could use the adapter for the micro SD card so I could use my memory card reader.  Nope.  The adapter is too big.  It does fit in the reader, but it pushes the lock tab into the locked position, so nothing can be added.  I'll have to wait until I can take it somewhere there is wifi connection.  Right now, it is just a fancy paperweight. 

Wednesday, December 29, 2010

I've Got Steam!!!

Today I stayed in waiting for the apartment maintenance work to arrive.  I had a leak in my living room radiator that was leaking out about a pint of water per day over the Christmas holiday weekend.  I was a bit worried that after I made the report, the leaking stopped, but the guy arrived and recognized the leak and fixed it fairly quickly.  I also reported the leak under the kitchen sink, also appears fixed.  So far, the living room radiator seems to be giving off much better heat then it has in a long time.  Now, I just hear the steady sound of steam rather than the clank, clank sound of pipes rattling.

Oh, and my imitation ipad arrived this evening.  Not what I was expecting.  Apparently, there are several imitation brands.  I didn't get the one I signed for.  The one I got looks more like the ipad.  The one I ordered had the imitation logo on the front.  I was happy with that.  Unfortunately, my Apad arrived with an inspection label with the message, "Do not return to place of purchase after Seal is Broken".  Problem? The seal was broken!  That's a warning, but then I knew it was a roll of the dice when I ordered the imitation ipad.  The reviews were 50/50 positive/negative.  So how does it work?  I have no idea.  The directions state that the Apad should be charged for 10 hours before its initial use (and 10 hours for the second use, and 5 hours of charging time afterwards).  I'm guessing (or hoping?!?) that some of the negative comments might have come from those individuals not following the directions (or even bothering to read the directions).  Any other comments?  It is possible that this "toy" might be too advance for someone of my limited intelligence.  The directions were giving me a headache.  Oh, and this imitation might be a touch screen meaning no stylus needed.  However, I'll keep the stylus.  Once the newness wears off, I'll probably want to use the stylus to keep the finger prints off.  Well, I think that's about it.  I'll see how it works tomorrow.  This blog entry will be revised at some later date.

Sunday, December 19, 2010

Tron: Legacy 3D

The movie wasn't great, it wasn't good, it wasn't bad, it was just nice.  Many people might call it a bad movie.  After a start time of about 35 minutes late, the movie started with a written notice: "This movie was orginally created in 2D.  There are parts that are in 3D.  Keep the 3D glasses on throughout the movie.  I didn't.  I just wanted to see how much of it was in 3D....not much.  I'm not including the parts that really didn't need to be in 3D.  As for the content, that is where the movie will lose a lot of points from the viewing audience.  In my opinion, there were too many plot holes, too many plot points that seem to have just been added-on at the last minute.  And a couple of plot strands seemed to have been left hanging (or not developed).  The saving points were Jeff Bridges, and the special effects.  After the movie, I took a couple of photos of the theater exterior and the city block.  I'll post those photos later.

Saturday, November 20, 2010

The Hobbit

Not much to write about.  I finished reading the prelude to the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, "The Hobbit".  I really enjoyed the story.  I thought the story was very well written.  I'm looking forward to the planned movie.

Other than the Hobbit, there isn't much to write about.  I lose my student teacher in about 3 weeks.  Wow, I'm going to miss having that extra support in the classroom.  I think she will make a nice teacher.  She was reliable, eager, and personable.  She will be missed.

One of my blog readers Jeff made a comment on his blog about doing a 3 week improvement plan.  I liked the idea, so once again, I will  try to jump-start my "get it together" goals with a 3-week time limit.  According to Jeff, some bad habits need about 3 weeks to be broken.  I believe that's what he said.  Well, I'll see.

Monday, August 09, 2010

Salem's Lot

Well, today was a bust. I wanted to clean my apartment so that I can unpack the exercise bike and resume my (modified) liquid diet. Unfortunately, I didn't do much today. I finished reading the last one-third of the Stephen King book "Salem's Lot". It was long, it gave a lot of details that bored me. It also took a very long time to get started. The strange thing is that the book wasn't in any way shape or form scary. It was interesting, and it did hold my attention. However, a part of me wonders if I would have finished reading the book if I wasn't on vacation. Instead of a roller coaster ride that "The Da Vinci Code" seemed to me. Although the "Lot" book was written nicely. I got the impression of it being more of a slow drag that started and stopped along the way. Now (before I invest in "Under the Dome"), I want to read "Misery". I'll read that book when school resumes. I want to see if I can get through it when I don't have a lot of free time on my hands. That's another book that is suppose to be scary, and the movie definitely leaves that impression.

Anyway,now that I've finished the book, I'm going to watch the 1979 movie on YouTube. There was also a 2004 movie, but my online search has told me that main parts have been changed.

My next summer read will be the novelization of the DC comic series "Infinite Crisis".

Post Date - Monday, August 9, 2010 6:00PM

Sunday, October 18, 2009

I'm in Love...

...with the Maxpedition Neatfreak Organizer.

Last night I browsed online for a smaller pack than the backpack. I purchased one of the bigger backs similar to a backpack. However this morning, I began thinking that another large pack would defeat the purpose of the change from a regular backpack. I wanted a pack just big enough to fit a paperpack book, a mini umbrella, MP3, cell phone, camera, flashlight, train/bus maps, tissues, hand wipes, etc... I also want to buy a netbook to replace my old secondhand laptop. I think you get the picture. I came across the "Neatfreak", and I'm now super excited. I even found a review of the bag on YouTube. A great review! I was sold. Oh, and it comes in black!

I wanted a pack(man purse?!) because I like being organized, but (lately), I've gotten tired of dragging around a mostly empty backpack with the small stuff becoming a disorganized mess at the bottom of the bag. I'm also tired of stuffed pockets inside my classroom, but that post will have to wait.

I hate the look of the fannypack. Below is the video review of the Neatfreak.