Sunday, November 27, 2011

Something's wrong...I just don't know what.

The title says it all.  I can't seem to get my act together.  Procrastination seems to be ruling my life and my decisions...or lack of correct decisions.  With my research projects not completed or barely started, I've spent most of this weekend in my pajamas....doing nothing but sleeping.

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Paper, paper, too much paper...not really

I think I'm getting better at the titles.  Last night (early this morning actually) I tried to check to see if I had a case of paper on the Staples order I had about an hour prior.  Unfortunately, the website decided at that moment to be "unavailable".  It was late and I was tired, so I just ordered another case.  Now, I discovered that I did in fact have a case of paper on my first order.  Now I have another case of copy paper being processed for delivery.  No need to cancel the second order because it just means I won't have to reorder anytime soon.  However, the way I go through copy paper, these two cases should last about 3 to 4 months (before I'll need to order more).

Money Earned...Money Spent!

Yep, the title says it all.  This past summer, I went to a few workshops.  Well, a couple of weeks ago, I received a nice check (about $300) for the time spent.  I haven't cashed it knowing that I would spend it on my classroom or on credit card bills.  My Christmas club money has already been spent on bills. Returning to college was the reason for the loss of my Christmas Club money this year.  Last year, I was determined to spend it on myself, but accidentally spending it on bill payments.  This year the plan was to quickly take the club money right on the day it was due to be deposited.  Unfortunately, a college bill and a change in my insurance premiums (I should have read the small print), made this year's club money disappear.  Well anyway, with the $300 check, I wanted to buy something for myself.  After thinking of various "toys/electronics(netbook, cell phone, tablet, etc...", I finally made a decision.  I would spent the dollar amount online and deposit the check to cover the expenses.  Below is my list:

 
Vaultz Locking Storage Clipboard Black
Collapsible Blue Fairshare Mug
Hi-Tec Men's Altitude IV WP Hiking Boot,Black
Trendy Military Fitted Cap- Black
Rubbermaid Blue Ice Flexible Ice Blanket
Alpha Industries Hooded MA-1 Flight Jacket- Black 2XL
BoxWave Capacitive Samsung Galaxy Tab Stylus (Jet Black)"
and
3 TIME For Kids The Amazing Fact and Puzzle Book

 
  • The clipboard was an impulse I bought trying to spend the full $300. 
  • The collapsible cup was a impulse from a collapsible cup that's been on my Amazon.com "buy later" list for several months.  During the summer I've been a bit annoyed at the low pressure of public water fountains.  I also always wanted a collapsible cup. 
  • The boots were a necessity.  My previous boots had holes and always got my feet wet when it rained, but  I was always putting off getting a new pair.  Actually, the boots were never really waterproof.  I really wanted to buy a pair of winter/rain boots, but a couple of reviews about the "clunkiness" of the boots turned me off.  The fitted cap was an impulse after almost getting the imitation fur cap with the ear flaps. 
  • The ice blanket is just a sheet of bubble wrap where the bubbles are filled with water.  I already have a 9 bubble sheet for my Polar Bear cooler.  I'm loving that bag -- this morning I woke up and realized that I had forgotten to open my PB bag.  I was amazed that the water bottle that had been place (frozen) in my PB bag over 24 hours before, was still definitely cool to the touch.  Amazing! 
  • The bomber jacket was becoming a necessity.  My current jacket is about 5 or 6 years old.  I don't remember when or where I purchased it, but I do know that it was a cheap imitation bomber jacket that really lasted much longer than I had expected it to.  Now, it has worn out holes and the fiber-fill seems to have slowly disintegrated over time.  Lately, it seems as if the wind blows right through it.  I like the style of the jacket.  This one has a hood.  I'm not really comfortable with a hood, but I said what the heck. 
  • The stylus pen was a purchase to replace the one I had lost on the train platform a couple of months ago.  I was so stressed out when I found out the last minute...(the very last minute [by rumor]) that I would be teaching 6th grade after a full day setting up my classroom believing that I would be teaching 4th grade.  I like using the stylus because my finger coordination isn't very good, and I really don't like the finger prints and smudges on my cell phone.  Also, I dug out my imitation tablet with the Chinese operating system.  I'm going to take it to a Staples store or a Best Buy and see if their computer department can change the Chinese system to an English one. I've had it for almost a year doing nothing but collecting dust. 
  • The Time for Kids puzzle books were extras.  A couple of months ago, I purchased a class set for my students to have something to do during indoor rainy days when they couldn't go outside.  Unfortunately, I hadn't purchased enough to go with my slowly increasing class roster.  I now have 25 students in my class.  I hadn't planned on spending any of my $300 on my classroom or my students, but old habits die hard.

 
Once I finished my personal online shopping trip, I had to log onto Staples to purchase a few items.  My classroom personal printer/copier needs a new drum(about $200).  I also know that the ink cartridge($100 will run out soon. The custodian that sweeps and empties the trash in my classroom told me that due to budget cuts, there was no money for paper towels, so I purchased a case of paper towels (about $25) and a paper towel dispenser (about $25).  As I type this, I think I forgot to add a case of copy paper to my order(about $30).  I'm down to my last pack.  At my school, we have to provide our own paper, or seek admin approval for any copies to be made, fill out a requisition form and wait until the school aid can get around to it.  It is just easier to use my personal printer/copier.  I'm going to have to purchase another machine soon.  My current printer/copier is about 5 years old.  I've never had any real problems other than minor paper jams, but I know a break down is only a matter of time.  Unfortunately, I've grown accustom to (maybe even addicted to) the convenience of have a copies at my fingertips (no lines, wait, or requests).

 
Well I think that's..

 
Oh, the exercise thing.  Nope, I haven't been exercising.  Last Saturday was the last time I did any exercising.  So, my weight has been slowly going up.  Right now I weigh about 211lbs.  Last week, I was too stressed out about....never mind.  Anyway, going for full days (hyper kids and evening class, as well as paperwork for both) on about 4 hours of sleep was taking its toll.  Today I slept most of Saturday away.  As soon as I finish here, I'm going to check to make sure I ordered copy paper, then I'm going to call it a night.  I'm going to try to do a morning ride on my stationary bike.  I also want to try and finish my laundry and lesson plans early, so that I can get to be at a decent hour.  Hopefully, I can resume daily workouts on Monday.  Oh, and I need to (one of these days) open my Total Home Gym, it has been sitting in my hallway still in the box untouched and unopened.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I'll try again, but old habits die hard...VERY HARD!!!

Well, another weekend wasted.  I slept most of it through.  I'll try again tomorrow to get back into a workout routine.  I wasn't consistant this past week and as a result, I regain about 5lbs.  I'm currently weigh about 210lbs. 

Oh, I'm loving my little black bag.  I'm amazed at how it keeps things cold.  Yep, cold.  I fell asleep with the bag left open and to my surprise, the items inside were still chilled even though it was at that point almost 20 hours later.  Yep, I'm impressed with my little bag.

Work...work...I could comment about work, but I won't.

College.  I have several assignmens due. So that is another source of stress.

Well, I'd better go.  I have to get up early to get on my stationary bike.  If I manage it, I'll be depending on about 4 hours of sleep to get me through the day.  Not a good start to the work week.

Monday, October 03, 2011

Another setback

Another setback.  This morning I rode my stationary bike for 45 minues.  Unfortunately, today was another stressful day.  Another schedule change at work.

I did try out my new lunch cooler.  So far, I think it is great.  It kept my food cold, not cool, but cold.  It felt like I was taking my food from a refrigerator.

I'm falling asleep in this chair, so I'm going to end this entry now.

Sunday, October 02, 2011

Quick Update

This will be a quick entry.  Today I did a bit of cleaning in my apartment.  I got tired of stepping over, and around the mounds of old newspapers and other trash cluttering up my apartment.  I also wrote out checks for my monthly bills, stuff them in envelopes ready to drop in a mailbox tomorrow morning.  Writing checks is something I haven't done in many months.  Up until today, I had gotten too comfortable with waiting until the last minute and then paying the bills at the local check cashing place.  I also shredded some papers. 

Oh, I weighed myself today.  Although I haven't been too consistent with my workouts, I have been trying to eat better than I have in the past.  Well, I'm now about 205lbs.  I'm now days (I hope) away for falling out of the 200lbs range.  I haven't weighed under 200lbs in over 15 years.  I also dusted off my stationary rowing machine.  I'm going to try alternating working out between my stationary bike and my stationary rowing machine.  My TOTAL GYM is still in the box in the hallway, I'll take it out eventually.

I forgot.  I also took out my IRON GYM and hung it above the kitchen jam.  Yep, it too was covered in dust.  I'm going to spend this month trying to do at least one pull up.  To start off slow, I'm going to spend the next week or so just hanging.  Waay back in high school I took a weight training class and the coach had those who couldn't do pull ups, just hang.  He counted the seconds. 

Gotta go. 

205lbs.

Saturday, October 01, 2011

Spiderman - Turn Off the Dark (Review)

I thought the show was entertaining. I thought the sets were great. I think I would have enjoyed the show more if I had gotten better seats -- Unfortunately, I waited until the last minute to get my ticket. I was was in the back balcony in the second to last row, in the corner, with the guide rail blocking my view. If I didn't have my binoculars, I probably would have been really annoyed. As for the show itself, I thought it was nice. Not being a real Broadway goer, I'm not the best person to comment. Personally, I thought there were too many slow songs. At times, it was hard to tell if the cast were singing or if it was a sound track -- probably from being so far back. I thought the actors played their roles well. I thought the Green Goblin received the best lines/ moments in the show. I wanted to take photos, but no picture taking was allowed, not even before the show started. So, the photos I'm going to upload were taken from the internet. However, the outside photos are mine.

https://picasaweb.google.com/jannxb/SpidermanTurnOffTheDark#

Results

I woke up this morning (Friday) and checked my Polar Bear Cooler.  It was about 8 hours later.  No, the ice didn't last.  It was just about melted.  However, I was pleased with the results.  Deep-down inside I wasn't expecting it to keep the ice for 24 hours -- that was just wishful thinking.  But, I did like that the condensation was kept down.  I put in a room temperature bottle of water, and it was cool to the touch.

Today I went food shopping, but I mostly bought snacks and smaller portions foods.  I'm starting to get the hang of better eating habits.  I still have a very looong way to go, but I think I'm making good progress.  I'm starting to get better at finding better substitutes (for me) that is keeping me from pigging out on junkfood. 

Just some of the new foods I'm liking(getting used to):
Clear Delight Sparkling Beverage (I love this!!!)
Nabisco's 100 calories snack packs (from cookies to Cheez Its)
Weight Watchers Giant Ice Cream Bars
single serving boxes of raisins
Healthy Choices (and old favorite)
Thomas's "Bagel Thins" (110 calories as oppose to 270 calories)
V8 Low Sodium vegetable drink

I'm also getting better at creating substitutes.  For example, I now reuse single-servings plastic bottles to bring orange juice and milk to work.  I think it is cheaper to make my own "single-servings" than to buy a cartoon of juice each day.  The same goes for cereal.  Lately I've been making my own single-servings of cereal (just filling up a sandwich bag half-way with my favorite cereals).  Now, when I'm rushing in the morning to not miss my train, I can eat my cereal on the train, or later in the morning.  I've also gotten into eating fruit.  I put in one or two pieces of fruit (peaches, apples, plums, etc...) along with my drinks and snacks, I'm covered when I have the urge to munch. 

Although the weight loss is slow going, I am making some progress.  I'm starting to lose my beer belly.  Although I'm clearly happy to be losing weight, it is a bit strange to not have my belly to rest my hands on while I'm standing (especially when I'm reading a book). 

Tomorrow (now today), I'll be heading to 42nd Street to see Spiderman the musical "Turn of the Dark". 

Friday, September 30, 2011

Another Black Bag

Yep, I bought another black bag.  This one is the Polar Bear Cooler.  Lately, I've been trying to avoid the junk food by bring my own food to work.  I liked the previous green bag, but it just wasn't cutting it.  Some days it seem to hold the cold better than other days.  This new bag is a bit bigger than the green bag, but it is suppose to be better.  According to its description, it keeps ice for 24 hours, and can withstand hot water of up to 200 degrees.  Also, it is suppose to not "sweat" (meaning that condensation won't soak through).  It is suppose to be easy to clean.  If it really does keep ice for 24 hours, I could pack my breakfast and lunch the night before, so that I can just grab and go in the morning.  I'm one of those people who is always running out the door in the morning, so I don't have time to eat breakfast and certainly no time to pack a lunch bag. 

Lately, I have been working on my portion control.  I've also been working on finding substitute foods for the foods that I like.  Recently, I've discovered Ritz's 100 snack packs.  A couple of snack packs and a couple of apples really help with the food cravings.  Now, I just need to be consistent with the work out routine.  Work related stress has been keeping me from exercising from time to time. 

Well, I better go.  I'm going to toss a few ice cubes in my new bag and see how they hold up overnight.

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Quick Entry

This will be a quick update.  No, I won't make any comments about work at this time, so this entry should be fairly short.

Over the weekend I purchased an insulated bag to bring my breakfast and my lunch.  I filled my aluminum water bottle with water and froze it.  I then used my "ice pack" to keep my things cold. 

After many false starts, I resumed my workout routine.  I did 35 minutes on my stationary bike this morning, then I did 55 minutes this evening. 

Wt. 214lbs.

Thursday, September 08, 2011

First Day

First day was a bit of a stressful start.  The day started with rain coming down in buckets.  I was soaked when I walked through the door.  Luckily, I had brought my new shoes to work the previous day -- work shoes last longer if I only wear them at work. 

Other than first day jitters, it was a nice day.  Still waaay to early to say I like this new change.  There are still kinks to work out in the schedule, but it was a nice start.

Since I had very little sleep, I left as soon as I could after 3pm.  I was dozing off from time to time on the train ride home.  I hope tomorrow is an equal or better day.

Still Awake

Yep.  I'm still awake.  I spent much of the day lifting and moving things.  I returned home about 8pm.  After eating a Healthy Choice meal, I was out like a light minutes later. I woke up about 10pm.  I told myself that I wouldn't have anymore days (and nights) like this.  By the time I pick out my clothes for today, shower, and set up for the day, it will be time to leave for work.  If I risk going to sleep now, I might oversleep.  I sent off an email to the professor of my evening class.  I cancelled because I'm too tired.

Stress is back!!!

This has been a difficult week.  This was suppose to be the year that I was going to do things differently.  Unfortunately, that is no longer the case.  The major hurdle is knowing what (and who) I'll be teaching.  Today is the first day of school.  Yesterday, I did find out that I would be teaching only science.  Sooo, again, I'm got overly excited and over spent money on classroom materials that I don't need.  I ended up spending about $800 on materials for 6th grade.  Problem, most of that materials isn't science.  The day before school opens, I spent moving and setting up things I didn't need.  The books that I had brought down to my classroom had to be sent up to another room so that I could then pick up the science materials.  As for my 6th grade materials purchased from Amazon.com, they are en route.  Next summer, I think I might just rent a storage area to put all the extra materials away.  I feel guilty about being so impulsive, so I don't want to return the things I bought.  A part of me feels that I might raise a red flag if I keep buying and returning large volumes of merchandise.

As for exercising and dieting.  I plan to resume on Monday.  In the past, once I have a fairly confirmed start date for starting (or resuming) a workout routine, I will eat anything (greasy, fattening, or salty) with the idea that I will be starting a new exercise routine.  This time around, I've been trying to avoid the junk food, and watching my portions. Yesterday, when I had a taste for some cake on my way home, I searched the snack rack at a corner delit until I could find a cake that didn't have a lot of calories.  Most of the cakes had over 400 calories.  I settled for a lemon iced cake that had 200 calories.  It was small, but I was pleased with myself for my self-control.  At the moment, my weight seems to be fluctuating between 210lbs ~ 214lbs.

Monday, September 05, 2011

My Vacation is Over

My vacation is over.  Today I just took things slowly.  I slept late.  I went to pay my bills and went shopping.  I decided to try another drink just for the heck of it.  I bought flavored seltzer water.

Yuck!!!!  That stuff was NASTY!!!!!!

I haven't done any exercising at this time.  Hopefully, I will be able to resume September 12th.  This week I'll be too stressed out setting up my classroom, and dealing with first day jitters, AND getting used to my two evening classes. 
Crazy week.  Stressful too.  This was suppose to be a different start to the new school year, but everything seems to be playing out like a broken record. 

Quick summary because it is very, very late.  With relative certainty, I'll be teaching 6th grade this year.  With that, I did what I do when I'm nervous about the coming school year, I went shopping. 

Yesterday, I went to the teacher's store in Brooklyn.  They (in my opinion) have a better selection of middle school materials.  The plan was to get there at opening to avoid the crowd.  I managed to be the second person to arrive before the store opened up.  My plan was just to briefly look at the books --with the idea of not spending more than $100.  Well, when I left, I was about $300 poorer.  From there, my plan was to go home, drop off the purchased materials and then continue on to the mall to go clothes shopping.  But since it was getting late -- the last evening bus from the mall is 7pm.  The problem with depending on public transportation is that you have to plan around the bus and/or train schedule.  At the mall, I needed to buy some "back to school" clothes for myself.  Unfortunately, I tend to wear clothes until they are falling apart.  By the time it was time to go, I was about $300 poorer.  I caught a few sells, so I was pleased about that.  I purchased a couple of pair of shoes, 3 slacks, 5 shirts (three color, and two white), and underwear.

Today (Sunday), the plan was to go to the teacher's store closer to where I live (Lakeshore).  Lakeshore is a bigger chain of educational supply stores.  I went to try and exchange the 4th grade materials that I had purchased.  I thought it might be difficult to exchange, but it was very easy.  I just said that I wanted to exchange....Before I finished my sentence, the person behind the counter just said, "don't worry, I can help with your refund."  I also went to use their laminating machine.  Wow, it was very convenient.  It was a bit annoying waiting on the line.  I was a bit annoyed at a couple of people on the machine when I arrived.  One lady was moving as slow as molasses, another lady was making her (center) signs while she was using the machine.  One lady on line complained about how slow the line was moving, and yet, when she got to the machine, she had about 15 or 20 hand-made charts that she was planning to laminate. AND, she was picking through her pile trying to decide what she wanted.  The lady in front of me was nice, but she seemed a bit old.  Not that there's anything wrong with an older person teacher.  I just thought she seemed a bit out of it.  Not to mention the very old poster she was laminating.  It must have been from the 70's.  The poster was of an African-American family (with Afros) sitting around and reading.  Behind me, there was a guy complaining loudly about his new teaching assignment and how he wasn't spending any money now.  He said he might spend some after he assesses his students.  When it came my turn to use the laminating machine, to be fair, I offered to use it for 5 minutes, then I would let the next person use it.  And then use it for another five minutes, and then let the next person go, etc... After laminating, I went to briefly look through the materials for 6th grade materials.  And, I ended up leaving about...$300 poorer.  Since I had to travel by bus, I decided to cut and trim the decorations and posters so that they would be easy to carry.  It ended up taking about 2 hours of cutting.  When I finished, I discovered that about 1/3 of the items didn't laminate properly.  At first when I went the the person behind the counter, the manage was about to say it was my fault that I didn't have the machine on hot enough.  However, when one of the cashiers mentioned to him that another person had the same problem earlier, he went straight to the machine, and tried to solve my problem.  I was impressed that despite the crowd, when the manager said that he would return in a couple of minutes, he actually did!  He used one of the two laminating machines that was broken to feed in my posters and decals one by one until the heat melted the plastic lamination.  AND for my time wasted, he gave me 3 coupons for free laminating (15ft. each). 

No exercising today.  I hadn't eaten anything since I had a can of V8 this morning, so I was hungry.  I went to Wendy's restaurant on the way home.  I was thinking that a 1/2 lbs burger and medium fries would fill me up.  NOPE!  While I was waiting for the try, I ate the fries.  I finished off the hamburger minutes later.  I avoided the soda because I know it has a lot of calories.  The strange thing was that it felt like I had eaten a White Castle burger.  I was ready for dinner.  I settled on a Healthy Choice sweet and sour chicken meal.  I also drank a liter of ShopRite Zero Carbs and Calorie Free Sugar Free and Caffeine Free soda. 

Well, that is ....

Oh, I almost forgot.  I just finished looking at the materials that were in my Amazon.com shopping cart.  When I first found out I would be teaching 4th grade, I went online to purchase 4th grade copies of the 3rd grade versions that I liked.  Well, when I found out I would be teaching 6th grade, I did the same thing.  Luckily, I was able to delete some of the items since I had already purchases them.  In the end, I spent about another $200.  My credit card is smoking like a five alarm fire.  But there is one more thing I really, really, need to get.

Even more than a decent photocopy machine, I need a grading machine.  My school is very, very big on "Data Driving Instruction".  I was drowning in paperwork last year.  I will lose my mind if I have to try to keep up with testing paperwork again this year.  This machine (and others like it) can do in about 30 seconds, what it would take me 2 hours or longer to do (grade a class set of a single test AND provide a data analysis for each student).

Now, I think  that's it...

Friday, September 02, 2011

Short post.  I'll just say that things seem to be "back to normal". 

[....comment deleted ....]

Never mind. 

This Labor Day weekend, I'll have to do some last minute errands.  Tomorrow, I will try to do a double errand.  Now that I'm fairly certain that I will in fact be teaching 6th grand.  I need to buy some supplemental materials to make sure that I'm covering everything that I should.  I also need to do some back to school clothes shopping for myself.  I have a bad habit of wearing my clothes until they fall apart.  Sunday, I want to go to the teacher's supply store to laminate some posters and wall decorations. 

Exercising.
At the moment, I'm doing all of my exercising by moving and lifting large items.  Today, I had to move all of the students textbooks and workbooks from the 3rd floor to the 2nd (about 6 ~ 8 trips).  Hopefully, I will be able to resume exercising on Monday (Labor Day).

Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Feeling a bit better

After spending a few hours moping in bed, I finally got up.  There might be some positive aspects to moving to 6th grade.

I also had my first class of the semester.  I was okay.  I was surprised that a couple of the adults in the room  were actually acting like the students in my 3rd grade classroom.  They both seemed to spend a large amount of time whinning or complaining to the professor. The guy sitting next to me appeared (to me) to be a know it all. I was a bit surprised that he was actually acting like my 3rd graders act from time to time. It is understandable in a child, but very annoying a grown man huffy and verbalizing that he would rather read than do the assigned project, or telling us he's done 10 minutes into a 30 minute project. Then, complaining to the professor asking why he had to take that course. All the while I was saying to myself, "Thank God I don't have this guy in my class".

A bit of a set back...

I went to bed about 1am.  I woke up about 5am.  I couldn't go back to sleep until about 7am.  I got up about 10am.  It is now 12noon.  I should have been at school about 4 hours ago.  I won't be at work until about 2:45pm (the earliest).  And I have my first evening class for this semester.  I was suppose to have been done with all my heavy lifting and moving yesterday.  But now, I'll either have to wait until the other teachers arrive after tomorrow, Friday, or even after Labor Day.  Yes, there are teachers who won't do an ounce more than legally required...if at all.  Or, ...I will have to go to my classroom and remove all of the fourth grade materials (student textbooks, and test prep materials, etc...), go through my things to remove 2nd and 3rd grade materials.  Since the other two 4th grade teachers already have their things, they will not be taking any extra materials.  In other words, there won't be anyone to come pick up the 4th grade materials.  The materials will probably have to be taken to one of the book closets on another floors (of course).  I'll probably have to be the one to go up to the third floor and go through the contents of the unpacked 6th grade classroom to find the 6th grade materials, and then bring them down to my room.  Then, pack away those materials.  And after all that is done, figure out what I'll be should be teaching sixth graders.

Oh, and can I do this before 4:30pm and not sweat up a storm.  I would prefer not going to my first class of the semester stinking to high heaven.

I better stop procrastinating.  I have work to do.

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

When It Rains...

Here in NYC, we just went through Hurricane Irene.  Some people did better than others.  I was one of the lucky ones.  From my apartment, it seems like just a heavy rainy day.  However, there was flooding in other areas.

I was suppose to see the Spiderman Broadway show, but it was cancelled due to Hurricane Irene.  I ended up staying home and doing some long term organizing of my classroom curriculum.  Finding out that I would be teaching fourth grade this coming school year (with the bulk of my students) had me stressed out.  So, as most of you long time readers know, I went shopping.  I ended up spending about $500 on various 4th grade materials.  Each new item gave me a bit of peace of mind.  My stress decreased as the summer when on.  I also mentioned that I was taking summer professional development at my school -- optional, of course.  One colleague found out the second week into the summer than his new teaching assignment would change.  I smile, I tried to make him feel that the sudden change was a good thing (secretly being grateful that it wasn't me).  Anyway, I continue to come the school during the summer.  Since, I never got the call (or received a message) that my class assignment would change, I continued spending money (I didn't really have, going deeper in credit card debt), buying 4th grade teaching materials.  I even managed to create an academic calendar to help with my long-term planning.  I was able to do long-term planning for most of the subjects that I would be teaching.  It felt good.

Today, was the first (unofficial) day back for me.  Although the school was open for teachers who wanted to come to the workshop, the classrooms were not available at that time, so I couldn't really do anything in terms of setting up or moving furniture.  Teachers official are suppose to come back the day after Labor Day.  There may be a teacher that can fix up a classroom in only two days, but I know that I can't.  Anyway, I've always returned when the school building official opens for administrators and other non-classroom staff (cafeteria, security, secretary, etc...). 

Anyway, I arrived about 8:45am.  I was about 45 minutes later than I wanted to be, but I was not stressed.  I was determined to start off the school year differently than previous "Preparation" days.  I was a bit annoyed that I hadn't returned yesterday, but since the train system near my home was suspended due to the hurricane, I didn't stress about it.  So, how did I do for the first Preparation Day?  If you look at previous blog entries entitled "Preparation", you would notice a theme (or similarity) among them.  This time, I had the plan to unpack better than previous years.  That meant trying to not let myself get distracted to the point of wasting time and accomplishing nothing (and end up stressing out and rushing at the end along with the late comers and poor planners).  This time, I really don't want to be the first one in, and the last one out.

Day 1 was going fairly nicely for me.  When I arrived I went right for the boxes and items piled up in the back of the room.  An hour later that back shelf was cleared off!  Next, I rearranged the furniture in my room.  In the past, I've gotten stuck doing this too, but not this time.  When I finished, I unpacked most of my boxes.  Again, in the past, I've gotten stuck with this too.  However, I managed to unpack and group and organized most of my stuff.  In the past, I've done a sloppy unpacking, straightened up my room and then a day or two later, I would need to unpack a few more boxes, or closet, and then boom, my classroom would look like I hadn't done anything.  Well, not this time.  My classroom is a mess, but it is cluster of piles I know where I'm going to put them.  My goal was to do all of the heavy lifting and heavy moving today, so that I won't need to do that (moving furniture or heavy objects).  Just before the custodians rang the alarm letting us know that we had to leave...immediately, I had just finished moving the last shelving unit.  And yes, I did clear out the cabinet before I moved the shelving unit, so I won't have to do any rearranging later.  

With the alarm going off, that is the signal to all must leave the building.  Normally, when that alarm goes off, I start panicking and rushing to leave.  Today, I was pleased with myself.  I strolled, briefly chatted with colleagues as I left (the way the others do).

Outside the building, one of my colleagues casually asked, "Soo, did you see the new reorganization sheet? It was emailed to us yesterday."  The shocked (but curious) look on my face gave her a quick case of amnesia.  It wasn't until I was on the train, that another colleague gave me the news:

I will be teaching 6th grade this school year.

F**K!!!

Sorry, I don't like to curse, but I was angry.  Now, I'm just kind of numb.  Did I mention that I have evening classes starting tomorrow and Thursday of this week? 

Stress just can't seem to do without me.

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

East Coast Earthquake

Well, you've probably heard or read about the east coast earthquake that happened today about 1:50pm.  Luckily, there were no major injuries or damages. Where was I when the earthquake hit?  I was on my stationary bike.  I decided to do another 90minute/30minute workout.  The quake struck just when I was nearly finished with ten minutes to go.  At first, I wasn't sure it was an earthquake because I was on the bike; I had to stop peddling to check.  The shaking lasted only a few seconds (maybe 15 or 20 seconds).  Having lived in Japan, I did recognize the shaking motion.  I wasn't too nervous about the quake.  The crazy thing is that I was more nervous about having to leave in the condition I was in.  I was soaked in sweat with nothing on but my underwear and undershirt  -- both in very poor condition.  Also, I was literally soaked and dripping wet.  I really didn't want to walk outside in the condition I was in.  A few years ago, I did buy an emergency pack from the Red Cross, and I do have my important papers on the same shelf like my passport.  The only thing I don't have are my copies of important papers like birth certificate, social security card, credit card information, phone numbers, etc...I've been planning to get those documents copied to keep the copies in the emergency backpack, but I never did.  At the time, it required me to take those documents to get them copied.  However, now that I have a copy feature on my home printer, I really don't have any excuse.  I'll see if I can do it tonight or tomorrow.  Also, now that I'm thinking about it -- considering my first reaction when I thought I might have to leave my apartment dressed the way I was, I need to have an overnight bag packed also in case of an emergency evacuation (stashed on the same shelf of course).  I think I might work on that this week too.  But, I need to buy some clean underwear.

Wt. 219lbs.