Showing posts with label Friday. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Friday. Show all posts

Friday, August 22, 2008

School Shopping

Friday, August 22nd

Today was the beginning of my back to school prep. First I unpacked my granny cart that had been sitting in the exact same place since about June 30th...right next to the front door of my apartment. I have a bad habit of dragging that thing home full to the brim and not touching anything in it until the Monday morning I'm dragging it back to school.

Anyway, my granny cart needed to be emptied because I am renting a mover to help me move my classroom supplies and materials back to my classroom. Remember, I always pack as if I'm not coming back, but as you can see, I usually do.

Due to my unfortunate incident with the U-Haul, I was not willing to rent another U-Haul and drive back to school. So, I searched the internet, and found a "man with a van" ad. After a couple of tries, I found someone who was willing to charge about the same that it cost me to rent a U-Haul, and move the stuff myself. To bring the stuff home via U-Haul, I paid $66. The "man with a van" will be charging me $65. I got lucky!

After unpacking my granny cart, I then repacked the items in moving boxes. Why unpack the cart? I wanted to do some more shopping and it would have been easier to bring along my granny cart.

Anyway, after the packing, I took a bath, then went to the teacher's store in downtown Brooklyn. Ms. Across the Hall said that she would try to meet me there. After about 3 last minute cancellations, This time, I just text Ms. ATH with my schedule letting her know that I was going whether she came or not.

I arrived at the store at 2pm, Ms. ATH arrived about 2:30pm. When we were finished, we were both poor when we left...me much more so. Ms. ATH total came to about $170.

Mine?

\/

\/

Are you sure you want to know?

\/

\/

Or, I should say that I shouldn't embarass myself.

\/

\/

My total came to...

\/

\/

$434.40

I've spent about $1,100 so far and school hasn't even started.

So what did I buy:

8 plastic containers
1 Teacher's Plan Book
1 "What every 3rd grader needs to know"(reproducible book)
1 "Hispanic American Achievers" (reproducible book)
23 posters
4 rolls of bulletin board paper
6 packs of bulletin board borders
500 self-adhesive card pockets
500 loan cards
4 drill practice books

and the list goes on...

Last year, there were so many changes and improvement that I wanted to do, but do to the "disagreement" between my principal and the administrator of the Charter School that was taking over some of the rooms in the building -- including my old room. My materials and furniture was not finally moved until 12noon on the last preparation day before school was to start. I never recovered. Once school started, with the changes and confusion with the changes, I spent most of the school year trying to stay arms-length from the tidalwave of papers and materials that was always shadowing me. I spent the whole year playing catch up.

This year, I want it to be different:
I want a new look in my room.
I want a filing system in place.
I want my materials organized.
I want routines in place that keep my students on task.
I want respect.

Oh, what are the card and card pockets for? Last school year, my students treated my classroom library like a book store, when school was finished, I had about 3 or 4 empty baskets that were full of books at the beginning of the school year. This year, my classroom library will be like the public library. There will be a card and card pocket in the back of each book. Lose one, and that student will be cut off until someone replaces the book or pays for another one.

Ms. ATH and I rode the train back to Manhattan. Ms. ATH got off at 42nd street to meet her husband, I took the train all the way home.

When I returned home, I was in a good mood. I cooked dinner, and washed all of the dishes. I made spaghetti with (ground)turkey meat sauce.

Tomorrow....

I'm going shopping, but I won't embarass myself (anymore) with the specifics, now.


Post Date - Wednesday, October 1, 2008 8:51PM
Completion Date - Saturday, August 23, 2008 12:21AM

Saturday, August 02, 2008

First Look

Friday, August 1st.


Three weeks left before the return.

Today, I managed to get up (and out of bed) about 7:30a.m. I put up the kitchen curtain (but it didn't stay up for long due to crooked and uneven walls), and took a few pictures of my very clean kitchen. I had a couple of bowls of cold cereal, and...I went back to sleep. I woke up, showered, and was out the door about 12:30p.m. I went to midtown NYC to check out and sign up for boxing lessons.

First impression? Is this the right place? Will I be wasting my money here? I might have to reconsider the other gym where the trainer talked my ear off with out mentioning prices. Both gyms had that dingy in the basement look -- even though today's gym (I'll call it Midtown) was on the second floor. This gym did have two boxing rings "while others only had one" (so I was told). The showers were located way in the back in a space approx. 10ft x 15ft area. Two of four showers were broken.

The general gym floor layout(not including the shower area). The layout was divided into approx. 3 sections:

* the two rings section,
* the heavy bags (8) hanging from the ceiling in the open area space,
* and the workout area consisting of free weights, 3 treadmills, and some exercising equipment.

I spoke to a slightly elderly lady who directed me to a trainer, who in turned, directed me to another trainer. There were no papers to sign. I was just told to come in on Monday, and everything would be done then.

So, my plan is to sign up for the one month private training($280) 3 ~ 4 times per week. Along with the $280, equipment will need to be purchased:
* gloves $60
* wraps $10
* shoes $63
* locker rental (per month) $15

The gym sells these items, but I would feel better if I bought the items on my own from local sport's stores like the Sports Authority and/or Modell's.

After the gym look over, I walked down to 42nd street. I had lunch at Yoshinoya (a Japanese takeout restaurant). Then, I went to see the movie "Get Smart".I liked the movie. I thought it was cute. My expectations were not high, so I was satisfied.

I walked down to 14th street. I had lunch at the diner I mentioned here a few times. Then I walked to 34th street


Post Date - Sunday, August 24, 2008 12:57AM
Completion Date - Saturday, August 2, 2008 1:14am

Saturday, July 26, 2008

One Room Down


Today started off the same as most of the others this summer so far, but about 3pm, I finally started to be a little productive. I went to the laundromat and washed all of my dirty clothes as well as my winter blankets, and winter jacket. When I finished doing my laundry, I finally cleaned my room, including: washing the curtains, folding (and putting away) my clothes, washing venetian blinds and the furniture surfaces, sweeping and mopping the floor. I made my bed and showered before I turned on my computer. I also put on the new bedspread. I put on the bedspread to act as a kind of dust cover, but once I put it on, I didn't like it too much, but I'll keep it for now. I felt very productive.


Post Date - Tuesday, August 19, 2008 12:32AM
Completion Date - Saturday, July 26, 2008 1:16PM

Friday, July 25, 2008

My Fall Reading List

Friday, July 25th

Below is a response to a question I answered about reading. When I finished, I realized this would be a good entry for my blog.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


I really wasn't a reader until I started reading the Harry Potter series. Now, I am a bit of a commuter reader. I like reading science fiction books. I'm currently reading Star Trek's Deep Space Nine (DS9) - "Twist of Faith". When I finished that I will jump into the adult bound edition of the Golden Compass. I like buying the adult bound editions because all parts of the series (or the trilogy) are combined into one volume. I like stories to have a beginning, a middle and an end. I don't like stories that are series. Last year, I read the adult edition of the Chronicles of Narnia. This fall, there are a couple of books that will be coming out that interest me:

1. Brisingr Book 3 of the Eragon series.
2. Inkdeath Book 3 of the Inkspell series.
3. Dragon Strike Book 4 of the Age of Fire series.
4. Deathly Hallows Book 7 of the Harry Potter series.*
* I bought this book months ago, but since it is the last in the series, I was so excited that I read the synopsis online before I got the book, so knowing the main parts of the book, has pushed it down lower on my reading list.


Post Date - Sunday, August 17, 2008 11:28PM
Completion Date - Friday, July 25, 2008

Friday, July 11, 2008

Friday Movie and a Walk


Friday, July 11, 2008
It has been a very slow, lazy few days. Yesterday, I was in another lazy, slow moving mood. I didn't get out of bed until about 4p.m. I only had a couple of bowls of cold cereal for breakfast. With a refrigerator full of about $112 dollars worth of fresh fruits and vegetables, I was too lazy to start my vegetable salad meals. I told myself that I would start tomorrow. So with that pronouncement, I decided that I had a taste for spaghetti. The plan was that since I did not do anything physical, I would walk to downtown Yonkers to the pizza shop and walk back. When I arrived downtown, I ended up going to the imitation 5 & Dime store. I bought a cheap double-fan for the kitchen window. But since the kitchen window is so dirty, I will have to wait until I clean the window before I'll put that fan in the window. I won't embarrass myself by mentioning the number of months I haven't cleaned my windows. After eating my spaghetti (take out) dinner, I ate a 1/2 of a half-gallon of sherbet.

Today, I went to the movie to see Hancock. The movie was okay, not great or even good, but it was entertaining. I have to be honest. A few days ago, I read online synopsises of the movie, and I have to say that based on those synopsises, I was not eager to see the movie.

One of my epals(Macy's Walker) wanted to treat me to a movie and dinner to make up for leaving me stranded at the Bronx Zoo. However, he is just getting settled in New York, and just started working, so I wasn't comfortable with having him pay for a movie and dinner. I did agree that I would go to the movie. MW sent me a texted message to my phone asking for me to choose the movie and the meeting time. We agreed to meet at a movie theater on 34th street. We went to see Hancock at the 5:10p.m. showing.

The movie was okay. Not great, not good, but it was entertaining. To be honest, I went into the movie with preconceived ideas about the movie thanks to surfing the internet. I had already read about the "plot twist" and the plot explanations(about Hancock's powers. I thought the movie was going to really be bad (not the slang meaning good). However, the movie was okay. There were enough plot holes to make a good imitation of swiss cheese, but it was still an entertaining movie.

After the movie, my schedule was wide opened, so I was open to anything MW suggested. He wanted to go to a liquor warehouse in Greenwich Village (downtown NYC). Since I had nothing to do, I agreed. I would have enjoyed walking(about a 30 minute walk), but MW wanted to take the train. Since I don't drink alcohol, it was a bit strange being in a liquor warehouse with with little shopping carts available. I never would have imaged a place where liquor could be bought in bulk. MW bought a half a gallon of rum. After, we walked to Barnes & Noble bookstore. MW wanted to see if the last Harry Potter book was out in paperback; it was not available yet. However, MW did settle on buying the book "Italian Wine for Dummies". Seeing MW taking out his weekly paypack to pay for the book made me feel a little sad for him. Seeing the paypack brought back memories of when I first started working decades ago. And, MW being a bit older than me, only added to the bit empathy I was feeling. I knew I made the right decision about not having him paying for a movie and dinner. MW needs time to get back on his feet.

After B&N, we walked to Circuit City. MW wanted to check the prices for external hard drives. We then visited Virgin Records. MW didn't buy anything, but I bought a CD: Diana Ross & The Supremes - Number Ones. It was a CD of 24 number one hits for only $10. To be honest, I was a bit bored, so I wasn't really paying attention to the various CDs on display, it was only when we were about the leave -- MW mentioned that he had to leave to catch the 9:30p.m. Staten Island ferry. I saw the Ross CD on the way out. I didn't realize there was a whole section of number one CDs, but I did not want to keep MW waiting after he mentioned that he had to leave.

MW took the east side train. Since my train was in the west side of Manhattan, I walked instead of taking the shuttle train (or the crosstown bus). On my way, I was trying to decide what I wanted for dinner. Since I was in the area, I could have went to the diner mentioned a few blog entries ago, but I didn't feel like walking in the opposite direction. I'm a walker, but not really after dark. I settled on Popeye's Chicken. I read my DS9 book on the train, and returned home about 11p.m.


Completion Date - Saturday, July 12, 2008 3:18p.m.
Post Date - Tuesday, July 29, 2008 3:07p.m.

Saturday, June 14, 2008


Friday, June 13th
God was definitely watching out for me today. I woke up tired and in a bit of a bad mood. Today was a trip day, but since only 6 kids out of 18 paid, I was not even going to try finding places for 12 (mostly hyper)kids when half the building was also going on the trip. The trip was to see the movie Kung Fu Panda.

This morning I got up about 6:25am (usually enough time to make my regular train). However, I was moving too slow and before I knew it, it was time to leave. I didn't feel like running out the door, so I decided to catch the later train, knowing that would involve taking a taxi.

I arrived at school with about 5 minutes to spare. During attendance, I noticed that many of my kids were absent, that was when I thought that I might be able to go. Now, I only had to place 6 kids instead of 12. I managed to place the 6 kids. So I was happy. I only had 6 kids to worry about. Unfortunately, I got caught by the second grade teacher across the hall (not ATH), who found out that I only had 6 kids compared to her 14 kids (several that I recognize [clearly] should not have been going), so she asked if I could join her.

The second grade teacher is nice, but a bit too laid back for me. However, it turned out okay. I suggested that we stop off in a nearby park because we were very early. However, it turned out that the movie theater was packed, which was the reason why we were told to get our tickets in advance. But since I thought that I was not going, I didn't have my tickets. The lobby was packed, and here was where it was lucky that I had been with the second grade teacher who is a bit on the aggressive side(lax classroom management, but aggressive nonetheless). While all of the early arrivers (who also did not get their tickets in advance) were waiting in the lobby, SGT (second grade teacher) jumped the line asked the clerk if she had to wait on the line (even thought the lobby was packed with other classes already), and she was told to pay upstairs. Being the rule follower, I would have waited patiently on the lobby line.

Once our tickets were paid for, we then had to find our seats. It turned out that all of the other classes from our school had already left including Ms. Down the Hall. Even Ms. Across the Hall was already in the theater. Even though I told them that I was able to go, I was left behind. I felt a bit like the party nerd that no one really wanted to go. Anyway, due to the concession line, my small group missed about 3 or 4 minutes of the movie (not including the coming attractions (or is it trailers). So, how was the movie?

I enjoyed the movie. I thought the movie was funny, cute, and very entertaining. The computer animation was very nice. I think I would have enjoyed the movie more if I had not been in a room full of kids (in teacher mode). So, any negatives? My small group was nicely behaved. Unfortunately, I think several teachers should have left more kids at school.

Oh, there was an annoying lady about three rows down. She was a young mother with one or two young kids, and a baby...and a baby stroller. I told Ms. SGT that we should get our seats first before waiting on the snack line. The aisle lady had the stroller on the steps blocking the way. I had to ask her (I did it politely) to move the stroller. Me standing on the steps with a group of kids behind me did not seem to be a big enough incentive for her to move the stroller. She moves the stroller...then puts it back after my group walks past. Once my group has their seats, we were ready to go to the concession stand. The stroller was back blocking the aisle. I physically move the stroller into the row behind the aisle lady (the movie theater was not packed -- most of the mob(in the lobby) was probably in the lobby to see the Hulk). Out of the theater, I realized that I left the tickets on my clipboard. Not wanting to be refused reentrance, I went back for the ticket subs. The stroller was back on the steps. Common sense and decency seems to be fading concepts.

After the movie, I suggested to Ms. SGT that we return to the park so the kids could have lunch there. Neither one of us were eager to return to the school. It turned out to be a nice, very nice trip. The park idea gave us more time out of the building. While in the park, I called Ms. Down the Hall (we exchanged phone numbers in Maryland) to find where she had lunch. She and other teachers told their kids to bring (and eat their lunch in the theater), so once the movie was over, she returned to school. I told my kids under no condition were they to eat their lunch in the theater. See, rule follower. Unfortunately, I called just as she was walking into the school. She wanted to know why I did not call sooner. Unfortunately, I'm a bit slow. I should have mentioned that she and the other teachers left me in the building when they left for the movie this morning, but I didn't think about it at the time.

Ms. SGT and I would have stayed about 15 minutes more, but a mother was in school looking for her son (one of my students). Strange, the mother signed the permission slip saying that we would return at 2pm but she was looking for her son at 1:30pm. Anyway, we had to head back. We were back at school at 1:45PM.

I arrived in time to order a school lunch. Friday is pizza day. The movie goers in my class were tired, and the stay behinds were fairly quiet, so I was able to sit and eat my pizza. I let the kids finish their lunch. After, we went over last night's homework, and I previewed tonight's homework it was time to leave. Here, homework is mandatory each night trip day or not. Luckily, I made my copies the night before. And my homework sheet was completed this week. One of my few successes this school year is that I managed to provide a typed homework sheet for each week this school year. Reading, Writing, and Math are expected to be assigned each night (M~F). The other 3rd grade teachers did not have their homework sheets this week. For tonight's homework, they had their students write a movie review. Ms. ATH said she also gave a math worksheet as well. I'm going to miss having her right across the hall. Next school year, the kindergarten teacher who will be forced to move up to second grade will have her room. K2 seems like a nice (but cranky lady) in the hallways. I wonder how she is going to handle the 1st graders coming in. They're supposed to be a rough group (a lot of hypers in the bunch).

After the students were dismissed for Friday's early dismissal, I went to the computer teacher/tech guy to see if he would have the Smartboard ready for my Boy's Day presentation. Each male teacher has to do something for a Boy's Day presentation for the boys in the school. The computer teacher/tech guy said that he'd forgotten. He told me that if I arrive in school early on Monday (7:15AM or 7:30AM), he would do it then.

I tried to do my lesson plans in class, but after a bit of cleaning, and getting the literacy program materials ready for collecting, it was already about 6:30PM, so I tried to do a rough overview of what I wanted to teach. I made notes on post-its, and copy pages out of teacher's manuals, and workbooks. I should be able to fill-in my lesson plans and do my homework sheet over this weekend.

I left the building about 7:40PM, I arrived in the Bronx about 8:00PM. Since I had about a 30 minute wait for my MN train, I went to a nearby Subway restaurant. I ordered a 6in. pastrami sandwich. I was home about 8:50PM. Once my work clothes were off, my plan was to send a confirmation email to my epal(Macy's walker) about our walking activity tomorrow (Bronx Zoo), I also wanted to call my new epal (NJ) to say hello. However, I was out like a light within about 5 minutes of me "just laying down for a minute". I woke up about 12midnight.

Completion Date - Saturday, June 14, 2008 2:04AM
Post Date - Sunday, July 6, 2008 10:17AM

Saturday, March 08, 2008

Friday, March 7th.
Two teachers were absent, so their classes were broken up. I received two students from 4th grade and one from 5th. Later, a sub arrived for the 4th grade teacher's class. I would have rather had the two fourth graders than the 5th grader I got stuck with. I knew the kid was going to be a handful when AP1 made the call. Anytime the AP makes a phone call, then there is usually more to it than was is mentioned. The kid started off nice, but later in the day, the temper tantrums started. When he didn't get his way, or what he wanted, he'd pout and walk off or out of the room.

Luckily for me, Friday is my (relatively) easy day. I have a Computer Prep and a Computer Lab period, and Friday is an early dismissal day.

During the literacy period, the literacy coach came in to ask if I was interested in observing another teacher doing the Literacy program during Monday's literacy block. I (of course) said yes. It is a bit strange that I've been offered a pass one time to view a video about the program, and now another pass to watch another teacher doing the program. What's strange? Ms. Across the Hall (who received a letter stating that she showed very little evidence she was doing the program and showed very little understanding of the program) has not received any extra support. Oh, and I've been offered (by the principal) to attend a 3 day seminar about this program that will occur out of state, on the 3 days right before the Spring Break. Things here tend to be top military secrets on a strictly need to know basis...They will tell me when they think I need to know.

The day ended nicely. The Tech/Computer teacher let my class stay in the computer lab for an extra period. I spent the time grading the homework. By the time, we returned to class, it was time to pack up and go. Nice!!!

Since I managed to leave school at 5PM yesterday, I wanted to try a repeat performance, but you know me, one thing tends to lead to another. After chatting with Ms. Across the Hall, and box repairs, it was past 5PM. Box Repairs? When my materials had to be moved to a different room, I saved my boxes. I've observed teachers year after year, scrounge around for boxes at the end of the year, then proceed to throw away the boxes when the new school year starts. I decided to save most of the boxes. I tucked the boxes in a couple of corners, and everything was okay until I noticed that the boxes were "creeping" out of one of the corners. I had to move the desk and supplies around the boxes. I taped the boxes together, and tucked them back neatly. I should have taped them the first time. The boxes over time were bending at their folds (hence the "creeping"). After taping the flattened boxed together, I cover them with a piece of large bulletin board green paper. It looks nice now.

I also spent the afternoon looking for (and bringing) more books for the literacy coach to label. We use a computer-based literacy program were the students can take comprehension test on the books they read. Teachers are responsible for labeling the books in their class library, so students know what the level of the book is as well as the point value of the book.

In the end, I left the school at 8PM. For dinner, I had a Weight Watcher's meal, but I ruined any benefits of the meal by eating an iced bun right after.


Post Date - Sunday, March 23, 2008 1:52PM

Friday, February 29, 2008

Friday, February 29th.
Rain of confusion. Picture Day. At the last minute the literacy block was cancelled. Literally at the time the kids were all lined up and ready to move to their 90 minute location, an announcement was made that the literacy block was cancelled.

Due to picture taking moving slow, lunch periods were switched. the confusion came from there being two schedules (lunch periods are on a 50 minute schedule and and the prep schedule is on a 45 minute schedule). About 11 o'clock, AP1 made an announcement that the first and the second(my lunch period) would be switched. Being a bit slow, I just assumed that she meant that my lunch period would begin in 5 minutes when the current period was finished. Even as I watched teachers rushing to take their kids to the cafeteria to get their full lunch period, I thought I had plenty of time. However, after much confusion, it was finally explained about the two schedules. Once I had gotten used to this schedule, I had forgotten about the two schedules. And it only cost me about 15 or 20 minutes of my lunch period.

Picture taking was a slow process, and a noisy affair. On the way to the auditorium, one of my girls gets accidentally kicked by a boy doing a batman swing in the stairwell. Picture day (unfortunately) meant to dress down...way down. tight fitting jeans, tight fitting shirts(girls), loose fitting jeans and loose fitting shirts(boys). I also had to deal with complaints from a couple of girls who wanted to take off their uniform blouse wearing just their undershirts.

I was out of the building at 7:30PM


Post Date - Saturday, March 8, 2008 11:00AM

Saturday, February 02, 2008

I'll make this quick. I think I am going to lay down for a while. I didn't get out of bed til about 11am, but I still feel bone-weary tired. My groceries just arrived about an hour ago. I ordered my food online last night. This time, the delivery person was a bit annoying. He called to say that he could not find my building. I tried to get his location, but all he kept saying was that he could not find my building. I tried to explain that each buiding has a single-digit number and a name (both I included on my order form, and are posted on plaques on the walls of each building her the lobby door), but the guy just kept saying that he could not find my building. Since I was in my pajamas, I was not about to go downstairs looking for the guy. I'm paying to have my food delivered, If I wanted the pick up, I would have ordered pick up.

The guy arrived about 5 minutes after calling. He dropped off the bags muttering that this is a crazy area, and that he couldn't find the building. Usually, I tip the delivery person $5 on top of the $15 delivery fee, something about this guy just annoyed me, so I was planning to only tip him $3, but he dropped the bags and left before I could turn to pick up the tip that I had left out. So, I just said thank you and closed the door.

Friday, I was in a bit of a good/bad mood. The Quality Review was over (good), it was Friday (good), but my hypers were hyper(bad). I was in one of my moods, so when they started up, I gave them options to have computer time, even though I said that I would take it away from most of the class. I did not feel like being prison guard of a group, so I singled out the major trouble-makers (Drama Queen & Sneak) to make examples for the rest.

First period, an annoucement was made on the PA system that teachers should send down a list of those students who we felt might fail the City-Wide Math Test. I sent my list of 7 promotion in doubt. Later, another annoucement was made that the Literacy Block Program time (90min.) would be canceled. Yippee!!! Then that was followed up with another annoucement that those on the teacher's list would be pulled out for tutoring with out of classroom teachers. Yippee!!! For about 90 minutes, my stress level took precipitous drop, it would have dropped lower if Giggles had been one of the students on the pull out list. That high pitched shrieking, laughing, whinning and crying, was enough to make me put my head (or hers) through a window.

I decided to use the time to have the students work on fixing their portfolios. I modeled with them step by step how the portfolio should be organized. Giggles wouldn't follow directions, doing things her own way, then whinned, then cried when I mentioned items that should have been in the portfolios weren't in hers. According to Giggles, she did the assigments, but they are not there. She whinned then cried. After modeling the correct steps and having the students repeat with their own portfolios. When we finished, I then assigned each student to do another students portfolio who was not in the room. Since Giggles couldn't (or wouldn't) do her photofolio correctly, I didn't assign her one. She then whinned that I wouldn't let her do another student's portfolio. To shut her up, I gave her one knowing that she would botch the job. I was in one of my bad moods. I try to not take it out on the students when I am in a bad mood. Also, my goal was to have a (relatively) pleasant experience with 7 students out of the room). When Giggles started to botch the portfolio, I assigned her to be my assistant, she actually liked that.

At the end of the Test Prep period, the "others" returned. Gym was next period. As I am walking my students to the gym, the Math Coach mentioned that he had sent a memo about having a meeting during prep time to discuss preparations for the Math Exams. I kept Drama Queen and Sneak with me, any other time, I would have let them go, but I was in my mood. After prep/meeting (I will forgo any details about the value of that "professional" meeting), I only had one period before lunch. Unfortunately, it does not take a lot of time for some hypers to get hyper. When the shouting vulgar language started, I started shipping (2)students to other rooms. For lunch, I did a silent detention. If they spoke, it would cost them another lunch period. As a result, I will be doing silent lunch detention for about a week. This time, I had them just take their social studies book. I think a punishment should be productive if possible. I told the students that if I had to give up another day, then the punishment would be another silent lunch, but next time, they would be doing exerises out of the social studies book (if they don't finish, then it is an automatic extention to the next day's lunch period).

After lunch, my class had computer lab. Then, after lab, I did a quick review of the previous night's homework and a preview of new homework. Then, the Literacy Block was reassigned to the afternoon?!?!? Yes, the Lit. Block was assigned for 1:50pm (30min before dismissal). Why? Some had the new lists of their new groups, and others didn't. Then, with about 5 minutes to go, an annoucement was made that we should use this time to say good bye to our old groups, and send a messager to the main office to pick up our new list. My new group and list? I will now be teaching level 3.2 (third grade literacy). My group? Fifteen students ranging from second grade to fifth grade. Yes, second grade to fifth grade. Basically, I will now be teaching a group where 1/3 are above their grade level, 1/3 well-below their grade level, and a few students who (in theory) are now reading on grade level. Among the 3rd graders in my group are 3 of mine (including Princess and Giggles), and one student from Across the Hall's 3rd grade class who she complains is too advanced for 3rd grade work and has to find ways to challenge this kid (who according to data that she has collected is reading on a 5th grade level).

Towards the end of the day, Giggles was her loud giggling self. She didn't care when I told her about the lunch periods she would lost. She told me loudly, plaining, and often that she didn't care. She continued to be loud and disruptive. So, I took her coat and backpack.

Dismissal time. I will usually stay outside 5 or 10 minutes waiting for late parents to pick up their child. Without her coat Giggles came to me, I have to leave now. My mother says that I have to go. Basically, after being disruptive, I was supposed to have stopped what I was doing and immediately do her bidding. I don't think so.

About 15 minutes of waiting for after school to begin and the after school teacher to come, Giggles mother came looking for Giggles. Mom was annoyed. I started to explain to the mother. She gave me the usual "Umm Hmms". She said something in her native language, then turned to walk away. I just smiled...waited for the realization to hit. Seconds later, Giggles trying to explain that she doesn't have her coat. Mom was annoyed, pushing Giggles and angrily telling her to get her coat. Finally mom stopped to listen to Giggles explain again in the native tongue. The mother then turns to me to say, "you told her to give you her coat". Yep!(my response). "I told her to have her coat by the time I arrived."(mom's response). --I had told Giggles to wait on the side by the wall, but of course she walked off to go call her mother. Now, mom was standing in the cafeteria expecting to make a quick getaway. I explained to the mother the problem. Giggles does what she wants, when she wants, as loudly as she wants, but then when she is finished, she expects me to jump when she wants something. Giggles (as well as most of my students) has little (if any)respect for me, they have no problems being loud, disrespectful, and disruptive. Inconveniencing me means nothing to them, so one of the few things at my disposal is the inconveniencing of them and their parents.

After the Giggles saga was over, I was happy. I'd made it to another weekend to recover. I was planning to be out of the building about 4:30pm. But then I helped the other third grade teachers with posting their students' grades in the Board of Ed assessment online program. Then, I planned to be out by 5pm, then 6pm, then 7pm. About 6:50pm, I was almost out of the door, when the literacy coach stopped me to let me know that she set the goals for my class in the online reading program. That brief comment turned into a lenghty conversation about the "holes" in the program that allows students and some teachers to (perhaps) cheat. Since this blog is not suppose to be about other people, I will skip providing details. Besides I've been online long enough.


Post Date - Saturday, February 2, 2008 3:14PM

Saturday, December 22, 2007

My vacation/mental recuperation time has begun. I have a little over a week to finally get a hand on the chaos and confusion I've been feeling this school year. So how did I start it off. I got out of bed an hour ago. Breakfast is hot green tea and oatmeal cooling in the kitchen.

Quick Friday recap. Friday was the last day of school before the vacation. There was a lot of the usually nonsense, but I have to be honest, I seemed to be in a kind of daze -- that can happen with about 3 hours of sleep. I was just mentally counting down til 2:20pm. Through the temper tantrums, bickering, usual volume control issues, and bad behavior, I just felt happy for the coming break. After a $30 food frenzy/party, and hint of something more to come, I still had room reeking of ingratitude. The other 3rd teachers went on the field trip, with me left with their "no goes"(three in total). Five of my good kids (the only ones who paid), went with the other 3rd grade teachers on the trip to the community college performance of "The Nutcracker".

Also, a first grade teacher called to ask if she could leave two of her "button pushers" with me while her class did a Christmas show. Try not burning your bridges because you never know when you will need to cross one. I've needed to leave "button pushers" with her from time to time, so I did not hesitate for an instant to say yes. Since the upper grades were using the 90 minute literacy block for test prep, my time was not that bad. For me, I use the first part of the time for a practice test with testing conditions, then I use the second half for reviewing the practice test given. After that, we do a note-taking listening practice exercise. Day 2 of the ELA Test is a listening test. The kids are good at hearing but not listening. I also had my "Hypers" typing the character sketches of the absentees. I wanted my bulletin board finish before the start of the vacation, but I wasn't organized enough. I don't like having my students handwritten work up on the bulletin board. Besides, if they can spend hours online with the personal web pages and emailing, then they can type up a short assignment.

After lunch, my class had computer lab. Since my class is the last one on the schedule for Friday, the computer teacher lets us stay past the 45 minute time. Since I wanted my students to clean out their desks, I only gave them an extra 10 minutes. After cleaning out their desks, I quickly reviewed the math homework that I did not get to go over yesterday. To ensure that I had full 100% attention,I decided to use a bag of candy to "motivate" my students. One piece of candy for a correct answer. I purposely focused on the "button pushers", the old softy in me resurfaced. They got no party, and no present, I wanted them to at least feel like they got something. Dismissal went smoothly. Then Sticky Fingers almost ruined my post-day's end/vacation start" high. About 10 minutes after the class was dismissed, SF knocks on my classroom door saying "pencil case, pencil case, I'm here to get my pencil case". I had told her that she would not get it (nor the other junk) until her mother came to get it. Well, sure enough, mom was in tow. I explained to the mother the things SF was doing during my lessons and how she (SF) was playing not working, and the low scores were a warning that SF might fail because she doesn't take her school work serious. All I got from the mother was a gum chew um hmmm. Then they start talking in some African language Yoruba or Swahili (I'm not sure). This is the same woman who (in September)spoke fluent English and told her daughter to speak English in my presence. Also the same woman who told me to throw away anything not related to school work. As I handed her each item(make up, toys, kid's celebrity magazine, rubber bands, etc...) that I'd taken during my lessons over the months, the mother still with the extremely annoying gum chewing um hmms, just handed them to Sticky Fingers. What about the father? Remember the one who struck fear in SF. The last time I saw him was last month in the hallway (on his way to see about his other daughter). The standard unconscious question blurted out, "how's she(SF) doing?". My response of "Well, if you wanted to know...". His response, a nervous laughing "Oh, come on help me out". Don't you just love that support. This Christmas (according to SF), she will be getting her father's old computer for herself.

I have to say, that support at home really makes my job what it is. :(

After a 30 minute chat with ATH (with me devouring about 2lbs of leftover cake), and paycheck pick-up. Flittered away the time until about 4:30pm, then I got moving. I had to manual attach my flash drive to five different computers so that I could save a copy of my students' character sketches. Over the vacation, I will (I hope) correct them. Since the computers are old and frequently freeze, I had to pull out the computer tables and attach my flash drive as oppose to just emailing the documents to myself. Also the floppy drives don't work either. Also, I finally put up the manual pencil sharpener. The electric pencil sharpener on top of burning out too quickly, is too much of a toy for my students. I like the manual sharpener better. Since I am not very mechanically inclined it took me about 10 to 15 minutes to measure and drill the holes into the cabinet. Before that, I spent about 15 minutes removing the broken pencil that a student from last year had jammed in (eraser side first). With about an hour before the building would be likely closed. I changed tactics from end of the year cleaning to "next day" prep. In other words, pretending that it was just another weekend, and I would be back in a couple of days. I changed the (classroom) calendar(lots of pieces and bits of sticky tack). I washed the board and put up the Wednesday schedule (the day we return), put up a morning Do Now on the board. I was out of the building about 7:30pm. Since I had about 30 minutes in the Bronx for the next MN train, I went to the Chinese restaurant. Yes, I remember what I wrote in a previous blog entry. :) I ate a small greasy order of beef lo mein telling myself that I will start at the gym this coming week.

Home about 8:45pm. After a cup of prune juice (beginning a daily routine of drinking cup of prune juice in the evening and orange juice in the morning), I was out like a light. My goal this weekend is to continue my previous weekend routines acting as if school will be opened on Monday. With only 3 days to plan for the week school resumes, I should be able to plan for 3 days. If I accomplish nothing else this vacation, my one main goal is to have lesson plans, homework sheet done for the first week back to school, and laundry done. I know that if I don't do any of the above mentioned things these first couple of days, then those things won't get done until the last day of the vacation, then the stress resumes until the next vacation. I'm hoping that this is the time that I will finally get back to sanity. I like the idea that the "New Year" is coming. the best time to start new routines. For someone like myself who likes things orderly and neat (even when they are not), having a new year to begin new routines is very appealing. Considering I just spent a couple of hours at this computer with my breakfast still "cooling in the kitchen", I am not off to a good start. However, I did tell myself that I should treat this weekend like the previous weekend. Saturday for recuperation, and Sunday for recovery. If my lesson plans and laundry are done by Sunday evening, then I will be very, very happy. And I know, that 2008 will be my Phoenix Year. :)


Post Date - Saturday, December 22, 2007 3:47PM

Tuesday, October 16, 2007

Friday, October 12, 2007
Today started off not good. The night before, there was a notice that the cold water was turned off. This morning, it was rainy and cold. I was dreading coming to work. I had the feeling this was going to be one of those days.

It turns out I was wrong. Very, very wrong.

4 of my "headaches" were out due to the Ramadan holiday. Then, AP1 called to say I was due a make-up preparation period to due the new scheduling. There was a school-wide (grades 3 to 6th) that was more suitable than "school-wide" tests in the pasts. There was a Hispanic assembly last period. Oh, and there was a birthday luncheon for teachers with birthdays during the months of Aug., Sept., and Oct. I'm not a party person, so I skipped the party part (especially when the event organizer pulled out party hats for the birthday people. I ran for the hills. I came back later at the very end to see if there were any leftovers. I got a couple of pieces of fried chicken, some macaroni salad, and a slice of cake.

Oh, the principal stopped by. She came in looked around, then scribbled a note on a piece of paper:

"Kudos!!! You got caught being on task."

Across the hall (teacher) seemed very pleased to have also have received one. Me? I am sorry to say, I was offended by the comment. 1. it is the kind of comment a child would get. 2. Someone who is usually early picking up his kids. Always dressed professionally. Rarely sits when the students are in the room (never sitting at his desk during school hours). A nice, neat and orderly classroom.

What else would I be doing?

Other than the note, today was a day for the record. I'll probably never have another day like today. I smiled more today than I did in the past two or three years.

The day was that good!!!


Tuesday, October 16, 2007 1:18

Tuesday, October 09, 2007

Friday, October 5, 2007
Today started with my taking the later train. The trains were a bit slow this morning. I arrived at school with about 8 minutes to spare. I went down to pick up my class at about 7:55am. Admin is strongly encouraging teachers to pick up students at 7:55am. At first, I was (like several other teachers) not happy about picking up my students any earlier than I had to. According to our current contract, teachers are not required to pick up their students until 8am (the start of our workday). I did not like the early pick up at first, but I began to think about it, now the idea doesn't bother me. I don't mind picking up my students a few minutes early.

Today was another relatively easy day. AP2 photocopied five lessons from a test prep book, and that was the "school-wide" test on finding the main idea. There were 5 passages, each one was a page long with 5 questions (4 multiple choice and one extended response). Personally, I think that "test" was a bit too much for the students who had little test prep skills in second grade.

Since the usual candidates were their usual disruptive selves, I did a lunch detention. I think I was fighting a bit of a head cold, so I was not really in the mood for the usual nonsense. I told the talkers and the players that if they were going to take from me (in this case my time to teach), then I would take from them (their lunch/recess time). What was different this time?

I didn't allow them to speak...or even ask a question. In the past, during detention, even though I was suppose to be mad, I would still try helping the students with the work. Basically, if they were loud, disruptive and disrespectful in class, I would still try being teacher during detention. Explaining again what they should have gotten if they were not being disruptive. This time, I just wasn't in the mood. When they did the "I need help", I did the "ain't that the truth". You talked, played, and disrupted the lesson, and now you want me to teach you during my lunch time. NO!!!

Normally, I'd get a "that's not fair attitude argument, but sensing that I was in an evil mood, they said nothing. It was a nice detention. Friday's is pizza day. Since I've lost a few pounds just from my poor sleep habits and exhaustion, I did not want to spoil the weight loss with pizza. I forgot to bring my Healthy Choice meals with me, so I did not eat lunch.

Today was early dismissal for everybody(2:20pm), but I stayed in the building until 7:00pm. I got tired of the disorganization and the "soon I will start...". Before I got started with my classroom, I went to the local Chinese takeout. I ordered a lo mein and fried rice lunch meal($5).

I was home about 8pm. I was asleep about 8:15pm. Again no dinner.


Post Date - Monday, October 8, 2007 1:55am

Friday, September 28, 2007

I'll have to keep this short before the sansman continues his call.

Today, was a bit more stressful than it has been in the past couple of weeks. No, nothing like the past (school) year. But a bit stressful.

Last night, although I was planning an early bedtime, I fell into my old sleep pattern. After a Healthy Choice frozen meal dinner, I was out like a light about a half hour later. Then up for the night from 2am to about 5am. These last few days, I have not been able to catch my early train. I really started to get used to 45 minute prep time. Hopefully, I wll be able to return to the earlier train. Considering I did not do a proper clean up and set up for Monday, will mean that I will definitely need to make the early train. Unfortunately, the new train schedule goes into affect on Monday (I think).

Yesterday was the "Curriculum Night"(3pm to 6pm). Teachers were asked to do a presentation in the gym about the curriculum and materials that each grade would be using this year. Each grade had a table to put up a display. I think that since I was the only third grade teacher that was willing to participate, and I am fairly organized (in school), admin. did not push for me to decorate a three-panel display. Anyway, I arrived in the gym about 3:30pm. I was finished with dismissal about 3:15, then I needed to dig up some "visual aids" to display(homework sheet, reading log form etc...). I also wanted a bathroom break. Unfortunately, teaching often means planning bathroom breaks around the schedule you are given. That probably was more information than you wanted to know. Sorry, I got sidetracked. Anyway, so, how was the Curriculum Night? I sort of liked the idea (once I got there). I felt like a saleman. In the almost 2 hours I was there, I had two parents come to my table. They were not even parents of any of my students. After the 3pm pick up rush, the place quickly turned into a ghost town. About 5:15pm, I returned to my classroom to clean up and prep for Friday. I was home about 8pm. Dinner was a Healthy Choice frozen meal.

My workday (Friday) started with my usually hot cereal on the Metro North. I think I mentioned the benefit of styrofoam cups form the 99 cent store. For a while now, I have been, making instant oatmeal and cream of wheat. Do to my usually morning rush, I don't have time to sit and eat breakfast, that is until I started making the hot cereal to go. I boiled some water, stired in the instant oatmeal (or cream of wheat), and packed it in my granny cart. I have a hot breakfast that holds me until lunch time.

Today, Admin required that all grades (3rd to 6th) provide students with an assessment test in Math, with all of the City-wide processes in place. The math coach was responsible (I use that term losely). He photocopied the last "end of the year" assessment test. How can you give a test (and group students) based on how they do on a test they only know about 10%. The other 90% has not been taught yet. I was livid watching the frustration on the faces of the students. And those that were not mature to verbalized their difficulty, did it physically. Once the "hyper kids" got started, they did not stop. I ended up keeping in four students for lunchtime detention. After dismissal, one of the other third grade teachers came to visit my classroom. Her room doesn't have airconditioning. We ened up talking for almost 2 hours. As a result, my plans to get organized (class room prep and clean up) didn't get done. Promptly at 6pm, the firedrill went off. That meant it was time to get out. I walked the other third grade teacher to the train station. She did not have an umbrella. I then walked to my train station in the opposite direction.

For dinner, I had Chinese takeout. I was planning to grade some papers, but I ended up on the computer. Fighting sleep. I am now going to call it a night, so that I am not tired tomorrow.


Post Date - Friday, September 28, 2007 10:37pm

Friday, September 21, 2007

TGIF. I made it to another weekend. I will have to keep this entry short. I can already feel the pull of sleep taking over. I am sure the next doze will put me out for the night. Quick cap before the sandman calls.

Kids were a bit hyper today (nothing compared to last year). I kept 4 students in for lunchtime detention for not finishing their work. My workday ended at 2:20. After about an hour of aimless wandering and chatting with colleagues, I finally buckled down and tackled my classroom. I finally connected my four computers from summer storage. It took me about an hour to unpack the parts and cables and to connect everything. I thought it would have taken less time, but no. I finished about 5pm. I then went to work on cleaning up my teacher's area. Oh, I forgot to take pictures. For the first time this (school) year, my desk is cleared. I like having a cleared surface. I don't like clutter. If things don't have a place, then I will usually end up creating piles, until the piles become mounds, then mounds become messes where I can't find anything.

I don't think I like the new layout of my classroom, I've been forced to split my teacher's area into two. Last (school) year, I had the back corner as my teacher's corner (the sink didn't work, so I just had my things collected in that corner. However, this year, I could not use the corner because the sink not only works, but the water fountain shoots water about 4ft. into the air. Since the sink is accessible to the students, I did not want my things in that corner. I ended up moving my desk and shelving space near the window. I was planning to move my copier to the area, but recently I notice the heat and sunlight from the windows. Also, in the winter the heat from the radiators will be on, it really isn't a good place for a copy machine. Since I rarely (if ever) sit at my desk during the school day (except when the kids are not in the room), having my desk by the window didn't bother me (other than having my space divided). Today, while cleaning up, I finally decided to keep my copier in the corner near the sink, but not where water can get on it...I hope. I also moved my reproducibles to that corner as well. For the past couple of weeks, I have had to hike back and forth across the room each time I needed to make copies. Now that I have the basic layout of my classroom worked out, I now have to work on the minor (but numerous) loose ends.

My goals now? I hope I will be able to complete my lesson plans for next week. Monday, I have to go to the doctor to get the results of my tests. However, I want to use the rest of the week, to do preliminary planning that will allow me to plan my lessons for the whole month of October. If I can plan lessons for the whole month in advance, I will be stress free and able to attend the gym. That means that I will have to get out of the school building at a decent hour. With my laptop in the classroom, I can do put the students grades into a grading program, and keep up with the loads of paperwork that is now expected.

Starting next week, yes, (once again), I will be trying to start exercising again. I will also be buying more Healthy Choices meals and oatmeal. I like the HC meals, but the portions are soooo small. I am hoping I can use the oatmeal as a midday snack after 3pm. For the past couple of years, I've been eating oatmeal (alternating with cream of wheat) for breakfast (Monday through Friday).

Quick wrap up. I packed a few textbooks in my granny cart. My school is using a new hands on science program and a new reading program, which means new materials to learn. I was out of the school about 6:30pm. Today was the first time since school started that the custodians didn't use the fire drill alarms as a "get out now" message. After stopping for some beef lo mein to go, I was back home about 8pm. After eating, I am posting.


Post Date - September 21, 2007 10:00pm

Friday, August 24, 2007

Just a couple of days left before a return to work. Today I did a bit of cleaning. I did about 4 loads of laundry. I also transfered the vinyl cover from the futon in the living room to my bed in the bedroom. I covered the futon with another (lighter)dust cover, and put a fitted sheet over that. The futon now feels more comfortable than when I had the blanket as a cover.

Today, the dust cover for my computer monitor arrived. Wow, that was fast!

I spent about an hour cleaning my room (wiping down surfaces, mopping the floor, etc...)

Tomorrow, I think that I will make a trip to Brooklyn to visit the teacher's store there. Hopefully, I will be able to avoid the last minute madhouse.

Post Date - Friday, August 24, 2007 11:49pm

Friday, August 17, 2007

Today was my doctor's appointment.

Last night, with full access to my couch, I feel into an old habit...I fell asleep there. I woke up 12 something, and I watched a PBS show on Fidel Castro. It was very interesting. I ended up going to bed about 3am. I woke up about 9am. Since I had to catch the Metro-North, I did not have time for a bath, I settled for a shower. I arrived at the medical center about 11:15am. My appointment was for 12:00pm. I waited in the nearby park for awhile.

First I waited about 10 minutes in the hall on the main floor. I was first called in to register and given my patient rights booklet. Next, I was sent upstairs to the waiting area for about a 30 minute wait. First I went to the pre-screening where the nurse (or doctor) asked basic medical questions. I was a little bit uncomfortable with the door wide open, and the assistant standing there like she had nothing better to do. Once I mentioned the occasional groin discomfort, the assistant went an waited in the other room...which was nice of her. The assistant took my bloodpressure. Since my bloodpressure was a little high, she took it a couple of times, then called the nurse (or doctor) to take my pressure again to be sure. The results were the same (140/100). Then, it was back to the waiting area. Then, my PCP (primary care provider) doctor interviewed me about my medical history. He checked my bloodpressure (138/100), then gave me the basic medical check-up. My weight was 204lbs, and my BMI was 32%. Long story short, the doctored believes that the medical problems that I complained about is probably due to my weight and high bloodpressure. He gave me a prescription for some medicine to hopefully lower my bloodpressure. I will have to return tomorrow. Since no one reminded me (and I forgot) about not eating the night before, I will have to return for my blood test tomorrow. One Monday, I will have to make an appointment for the X-rays. The x-ray equipement is located at another facility. I also mentioned the problems that I have been having with my knees, so I will have x-rays on my knees. The doctor told me that I really have to start exercising, but not to start until I get the results of the x-rays. However, he did say that I should start doing sit ups. After the doctor's check-up (and lecture about low salt and more exercising), I was back in the waiting area. The last check was having an EKG. Luckily, my EKG results were normal...whatever that means.

I left feeling good. Hearing the EKG results were normal made me feel better. I decided to walk a few blocks. I was out of the medical center at about 2:20pm. Since I was hungry -- I only ate a couple of bowls of cold cereal and had hot green tea. I went to have -- sorry to say this. I had a hamburger and fries from a local restaurant. Starting tomorrow, I am going to really try to eat healthy. I have to return on Sept. 25th to see if my blood pressure goes down.

After lunch, I decided to walk a little more to hopefully walk off some of that hamburger. I walked from 150th street to 191th street. I took the #1 train to the Bronx. At the Bronx, I decided to have my prescription filled at Target. I was expecting to have the prescription filled sometime tomorrow, or a few days later. I was surprised when the woman said that it would be ready in 20 minutes. Since I had time to kill I wandered Target, and on an impulse, I bought a few things:

* Aller-ease Mattress cover for my futon. The vinyl cover with the blanket on time didn't feel comfortable. This cover is thinner. I will move the vinyl cover to my bed. I already have a cheap plastic cover I've been using since I got the bed sometime last year. The plastic cover on my bed now was from the 99 cent store.

* 3 Target-mixed CDs (Totally Awesome 80s Mix Tape, 80s New Wave: Party Mix, and Turn up the Sexy:Smooth R&B)

* A backrest pillow

* A Playstation 2 with a couple of games (God of War 2, and Fantastic Four)

Well, I better go. I have to eat dinner. I won't be able to eat anything until tomorrow morning after the bloodtests. Oh, I almost forgot. Tomorrow I have a driving lesson. I want to brush up on my driving skills, so that I can start renting a car.


Post Date - Friday, August 17, 2007 8:28pm

Friday, August 10, 2007

Jeopardy.

No.
No.
Yes.
Yes.

Above are the answers to the questions. If you've been reading my blog, then you will probably know the questions. If you don't know the questions, don't worry, they are not important.

201.8lbs. / 30.2BMI / 148.7CalB


Post Date - Friday, August 10, 2007 10:52pm

Friday, August 03, 2007

Another lazy day. Last night I went to bed about 1am, so this morning I was in my lazy mode. However, I did manage to do a couple of my online lessons. Other than that, I watched a lot of TV. For lunch I had low sodium chicken soup and a couple of slices of buttered toast. I then walked to the store to get the Daily News. I returned to watch more TV. For dinner, I ate a leftover pork chop, broccoli, and Stovetop Stuffing. For dessert, I had a half gallon of raspberry sherbet. Since there was nothing on TV, I decided to watch one of my DVDs. I watched "Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire". The movie was okay, but the book was far, far better.
Another no exercise day.

Well, I better go. If I don't get to bed, tomorrow will turn into another lazy day. Oh, before I go take a look at the attached YouTube video. I found it on the Yahoo page. I was able to cut and paste the code onto my blog page. Interesting video.





Post Date - Friday, August 3, 2007 11:36pm

Friday, July 20, 2007

Today was the last day of my Professional Development class on using desktop publishing in the classroom. So over-all, how was it? The instructor was a bit disorganized, and on occasion not prepared. Today, she spent about an hour typing up the "final project" for the class. The assignment was to make two newsletters. I spent the first 10 or 15 minutes teaching the Russian lady next to me, how to check her e-mail. Despite the statements above, I enjoyed the class. I kind of got the impression that the instructor's "teaching style" was knowledge through repetition. For example, over the course of the week, the students were asked to make about 6 or 7 different kinds of flyers that a teacher might send home to parents. Although her format is a bit "wordy" (in my opinion), I did learn several things that I really would like to try out for my students next school year. I believe that we could have been taught a lot more. The instructor's definition of desktop publishing is the inserting (and organization of) text and graphics. I think there is more to it than that, Today (the last day), the instructor mentioned a couple of things that probably are interesting, but was not covered. For example, creating a data base using Microsoft Access so that a teacher would not have to retype the students date over, and over. Despite the negatives, I enjoyed the class. I liked that even though I had the feeling of mostly doing "busy work", the instructor did have a nice air of professionalism that was nice. She drilled the basics over and over. She also remained friendly and patient during the "low end" questions. I also liked the class for another reason. It helped to give me a "student's view" of the learning process. I saw things that I would not do, and things that I would. The instructor spoke a bit too quickly, and made assumptions of students' understanding. On the other hand, she was (relatively) patient, and drilled the basics. The instructor seemed knowledgeable about computers, but also had room for improvement. Monday thru Wednesday, most of the instructions were verbal, by Thursday afternoon, she finally used a visual aid. She linked her computer to the overhead so that we could see what she was saying. Unfortunately, she had a smartboard, but did not use it. I suspect that most of the instructor's computer knowledge came from an interest in computers, not from formal training. I don't think she knew how to use a smartboard.

All in all, I enjoyed the class for what I could take and apply to improve my own teaching skills, and that was my main reason for taking the class. Next school year, I want to do a class newsletter, improve my progress reports etc...

I left class about 1:30pm. I arrived at the Bronx Metro-North about 3pm. I took the express train to Yonkers and walked home from there(about 30 minutes). At home a planned to jump on the rowing machine while I was soaked with sweat, but I ended up falling asleep. I woke up about 5:30pm. I did get on my rowing machine for an hour. I soaked in the bath for about 30 minutes. For dinner, I ate the last of the baked chicken I made a few days ago, and ate a couple of slices of wheat bread. I watched a bit of TV (Brit Coms).

Well, that's it for today.

200.4lbs. / 30.0BMI / 172.4CalB.

Post Date - Friday, July 20, 2007 11:55pm

Saturday, July 14, 2007










I'm tired, so I am going to try limiting this entry to about 30 minutes. I just finished soaking in the bathtub, so I am ready for bed. Today, I met one of my e-pals, and we had an enjoyable day walking around Central Park. I had a very nice day. However, before I summarize today, I should recap yesterday's visit to Liberty Island.

Friday. I left my apartment about 9:30am. In the Bronx, I stopped at the Target store to develop photos of my classroom. When I file my grievance for the "D" rating that I receive, I want to include photos of my classroom as supporting data against receiving a "D" rating. Anyway, I went to the photo kiosk and inserted my camera disk, and was I surprised...There were a couple of photos that should not have appeared on the screen.

I took a couple of photos of myself for "Before" shots, hoping that someday I can have an "After" photo showing an incredible transformation. The other photos were just a couple of "au natural" type. I deleted the photos from the disk while the disk was in my computer, and the photos did not appear when I reinserted the disk into my camera. I panicked for a while at the thought that the photos were floating around cyberspace, but I am feeling a little bit better.

After Target, I went down to Battery Park to get my ticket for the ferry ride to Liberty Island. The ticket booth was located in Castle Clinton (named after the governor at that time), the wait for the ticket was about 15 to 20 minutes. The adult ticket cost was $17 for an audio tour of the grounds on Liberty Island. For $10.50, you only got the ferry ride. To go inside the pedestal, reservations had to be made in advance. There were a few ticket that could be purchased at the ticket gate, but were already sold out. Then there was the line to get on the ferry, that line was about an hour wait. Once I arrived closed to the ferry, all passengers had to go through "security area" (A white tent). Once inside, just picture the airport check-in, it was the same. Before approaching the "security area", rent-a-cops kept shouting about the things that could not be brought in (including, big backpacks, coolers, large bags, and liquids). Yes liquids. A lot of people started to panic, and started throwing out their water, sodas, etc...Being the cheapskate that I am, I decided that someone was going to have to tell me directly to throw away my almost empty bottle of water. When I got to the "security area" door, the sign read, "No open bottles of drinks". Inside (just like the airport, passagers were assigned lines, on the lines, pockets had to be empty, metals removed etc...For some strange reason, the old lady in front of me had to take off her shoes. I had no problems going through.

On the Liberty Island, since I did not have a ticket to go into the pedestal, my plan was to just walk the perimeter and return. I got lucky, a free tour by a park ranger was just starting, so I followed that group. I thought the tour was interesting and informative. One of the things that I learned was that the guy who designed the Eiffle Tower also designed the Statue of Liberty Enlightening the World (the official title). I stayed on the island for about 45 minutes, and then returned.

Back on the mainland, I decided to go to the movies. I got off the train at 34th street, got a newspaper and realized that I was looking at an outdated movie schedule. The movie on 34th street was no longer showing Fantastic Four - Rise of the Silver Surfer, so I walked to 42nd street. On 42nd street, I was very surprised...

There was a Yoshinoya restaurant. Only those from Japan (or have been) know about the restaurant. A cheap, but good meal for only a few dollars. There specialty is the beef bowl. It was slightly Americanized, but I enjoyed my beef bowl.

The movie theater was a bit strange, it seemed to be getting bigger the higher up you went. the movie theater I went to #22 was on the fifth floor. The movie theater was small, I think there were about 40 or 50 seats.

The movie was nice, not great, not bad, just nice. Nothing special. I've attached a few photos from my visit to Liberty Island. The name of the photo will tell you what the photo is about.

After the movie, I returned home. I managed to get on my rowing machine for 45 minutes (see the results in yesterday's blog entry), then I soaked in the bath for about 30 minutes.

Since it is late, I will have to do a blog entry about my Central Park walk tomorrow. Since I also did my rowing for 45 minutes today, I will put the results below.

200.4lbs. / 29.3%BMI / 86.3CalB.

Post Date - Saturday, July 14, 2007 11:31pm