Showing posts with label Wednesday. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Wednesday. Show all posts

Wednesday, October 01, 2008

Rosh Hashanah

Here in NYC, schools are closed for the Rosh Hashanah holiday. I'm not Jewish, but I like their holidays.

So did I make the most of my time off?

Regular readers (if there are any) know the answer to that question. I slept most of Tuesday away. I got up about 4pm. Today, I tried to be a bit productive, but I didn't accomplish much. I went to the teacher's supply store in Brooklyn. My plan was to see if they had any materials for teaching to Non-English speaking students. I have a girl who has only been in the country for about a couple of months. The catch? She can't read in her native language (Spanish). I ran out of things for her to copy. Since she can't read in Spanish, she of course can't read in English. I have to start at absolute zero with the girl. I got tired of watching her color and draw. Anyway, the teacher's store had materials for teaching Spanish (and French, and other languages), but it did not have materials for teaching English. It took me a while to figure out English is the language of instruction. So, if I wanted to teach English, I would have to start with the basics, or materials at a lower grade level. Anyway, with the plan of only buying a couple of books, in the end, I spent about $100 dollars.

After the teacher's store, I went to Wendy's restaurant. After that, I rode the train back to Manhattan. I went to visit my foster father, but before that, I stopped in Staples to buy a few more binders. Now that I have 30 students, I needed a few more binders. I like the idea of my students all having the same binders, so I bought about 25 a couple of years ago. But now with 30 students, I needed a few more.

Well, I better wrap this up. I need to prep for tomorrow.


Post Date - Saturday, December 6, 2008 10:52PM
Completion Date - Wednesday, October 1, 2008 9:08PM

Wednesday, August 27, 2008

Set Up - Day 3

I'll have to make this fast. Tomorrow is the official first day back. So, spending a extra 3 days in schools before the official day, how much have I accomplished.

Not much.

The first couple of days were basically moving days for me. Monday was about moving boxes and furniture. Tuesday was about moving my personal teaching materials from home to school, and moving 6 students desks from the third floor to the second floor for the increased class size I'll have this school year. And today?

Last night I went to bed about 11:30pm only to wake up about 1:30am with a runny nose, a dry cough, and serious case of sneezes. I didn't return to sleep until about 3am. When I woke up again I wasn't in the mood to handle my classroom. I managed to finally get out and catch the train at about 11:30pm. I arrived to school about 12:30pm; my day was about half over when I arrived. Other than shuffling books in my classroom library, I didn't do anything.

Revised Plan

Thursday will have to be classroom set up.
Friday - It would be nice to say that I will be spending the whole day lesson planning for the month of September, but a more realistic plan will probably be finishing up decorating the room and doing my lesson plans for the first week of school. Hopefully, I will be able to have my supply list and letter of introduction revised.


Post Date - Sunday, October 28, 2008 2:58PM
Completion Date - Wednesday, August 27, 2008 8:40PM

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Boxing Lesson - Day 7 "Waste of time and money"

Today I put two options to mind, I told myself that I should clean my living room, or I should return the chain store boxing gloves. For the last couple of days, my days have been incredibly short. Today I wanted to change that. I wanted to at least do something other than sleep til noon, sit at the computer, go to the gym, and my day is over.

I decided to return the boxing gloves. When I went to the mall, the first thing I did was check the movie theater to see what was playing, but since I had to return home in enough time to pack for the gym, I did not bother with the movie.

First stop was the chain (sports) store to return the gloves. Along with the return, I also bought:
2 pair of gym shorts
An exercise mat for home

I bought the shorts because I was too lazy to do the laundry. The mat was for the exercises that I am suppose to be doing at home. I have hardwood floors, so a mat will help.

After the sports store, I went to Panda Express for lunch. Then at Target store, I bought:

* gym bag - this one holds its shape better when empty
* cutting board - until now, I've been cutting on a dinner plate
* memory chip for my camera - I want all of my "getting in shape" photos on its own
* cell phone case - new phone needs a case
* shelf - for my locker
* book - Artemis Fowl (Graphic Novel)

After Target, I stopped in Barnes and Noble. I wanted to just see if they had any books on boxing. I ended up buying:
* Fighting Fit:Boxing Workouts Techniques and Sparring. I really like this book better than the other book I bought. This book starts with the gear and goes through the various skills, and even includes weight training. A complete routine. Something I'm not getting, not by a long shot.

I returned home about 3:30pm. I had enough time to run an iron over my hand wraps, and pack up for gym. I forgot to bring my weight training book so that I could make copies of the workout charts. I also had time to eat a Healthy Choice Panini sandwich. Not a good idea.

For the last few days, I've had a panini sandwich about 4pm right before I left for the gym. My workout with my "private trainer" starts at 6pm. So enough time to digest and have the energy to do the workout. When I don't have anything to eat before the workout, I can sometimes feel weak.

Anyway, with the Panda meal, and the panini, and having felt a bit tired from rushing this morning to catch the train, I really was not feeling up to a workout. However, you know me, I am the prince of procrastination. I really didn't want to give myself an excuse to miss my workout, with school starting soon, I want a routine in place so that I can continue to go with very little disruption.

When I arrived at the gym -- I usually arrive early, so I waited until 6pm. I arrived only to wait 3 or 4 minutes while my trainer did someone else's hand wraps. When he was ready, I explained that I wasn't really feeling in the mood for a workout, but I would try to do my best. My trainer said that he would go easy on me. My workout proceeded as follows:

Stomach crunches (5 or 6 sets of 25)
Trunk twist (60)
Push ups (5)
Stomach crunch machine (5 sets of 10 reps)*
* When I was at my 4th rep, my trainer did his disappearing act to help. He had told me to finish my last set, and meet him over by the punching bag. However, he was not expecting me to finish as quickly. I took about 30 seconds to finish. When I arrived, my trainer had just started wrapping another persons hands, while he wrapped, I sat (and waited).

Next, was boxing practice. This time, my trainer did try to simplify the punching combinations, but really wasn't in the mood for more hit the bag with a combination then move routine over and over while he sat and said nothing. For about 25 minutes, my trainer just gave me various punching combinations and said nothing. Even when I knew I wasn't doing it right, still he said nothing. Eventually, I got bored, and just walked in circles around bag and poked at the bag and he still said nothing. He must have been annoyed; he yanked off my gloves and pointed to the treadmill...again saying nothing. I really was not in the mood for a boxing lesson, so I was not too upset.

So what now? I'm not really counting today's lesson because like I said, I really wasn't in the mood for a boxing lesson, although the trainer should have said something. I think I threw a bit of a tantrum and the trainer seemed more than willing to humor me. I spent about 15 minutes (after giving up) just walking around the bag in circles tapping the bag. So again, what now?

Well, I finally finished reading DS9 - Twist of Faith. The book was okay. Although I knew that it was a collection of several books in one volume, I thought the choices should have matched up better. I thought all of the books created a story arch, but it was more like one episode after another with some overlapping, but the story left several loose treads. Which means, one would have to keep buying the books. That's why I don't like series. I like stories to have a (preferably a happy) ending. Sorry, I got sidetracked.

Now, that I'm finished with the DS9 book, I will spend the next couple days going through the boxing and weight training book. I will see if I can come up with a workout routine. As for my trainer, he is now at strike two.

Post Date - Sunday, September 14, 2008 12:18AM
Completion Date - Wednesday, August 13, 2008 12:37AM

Wednesday, August 06, 2008

Three Strikes...Boxing Lesson - Day 3

Wednesday, August 6th



Today I started off with the swollen and stiff left knee that started once I sat down at the computer last night. This morning I was in a bit of a mood worrying about another failed attempt at getting in shape. I also had a bout of "What ifs...".

I spent most of the day hobbling around my apartment worrying, and feeling a bit depressed. I wanted to soak in the bath (hoping that would help), but I was expecting two deliveries, so I did not bother with a bath.

First delivery was my new cell phone. My other cell was either lost or stolen. I walked down to Circuit City on 14th street after the boxing lesson on Monday, but they did not have the one I wanted. They had the floor model, but none in stock. After also trying the "Mobile Best Buys" across the street, and even contemplating going to Target, it occurred to me that I could just order one from the company's website. I ordered FedEx Overnight, it came today about 1:00pm. Since I want to keep the phone number that I already have -- I also want to keep the minutes as well, it will take about 2 days to make the transfer. If I were willing to change numbers, then my new phone would be working already. But, since I treat my cell phone as my primary contact phone, it would have been a bit of a hassle to let everyone know that I had a new phone number. I'll attach a picture on my new phone. I have a prepaid phone, so I have to buy my minutes in advance. Being a bit stubborn, I really don't want to deal with those nickel and diming phone contracts.

The second delivery was from my online grocery order. Last night, I ordered about $197 worth of food and paper products. Some of the items I bought in bulk and I didn't feel like trugging out to drag that stuff home. I also bought a steamer basket. My new plan is to steam the vegetables that are now frozen because I was too lazy to cook them when they were fresh.

Today was my third boxing lesson. So how was it? Remember, I paid $280 for a one month's worth of private lessons (3~4 per week). So what am I getting. I think today's lesson sums it up:

I arrived at 6:00p.m. I was told to do 45 minutes on the treadmill --the posted sign on all four treadmilla was 30 max. My trainer, opposite side of the gym. After, I sat and waited for my trainer to finish setting up another student with her wraps and gloves. Next up, various kinds of stomach crunches (sets of 20 each). Next, 100 toe touches, while my trainer worked with someone else. Next, 100 twists with a exercise bar, while my trainer (with his back to me) was watching another student spar. Lastly, I was asked to step in the ring, and shadow box (no gloves, no wraps, just throw punches in the air) for 15 minutes (while he was helping another student -- a student I'm sure probably did not pay for private lessons. When my trainer sensed my annoyance, he told me to get my wraps and gloves. While I struggle with the approx. 5ft long ribbons that have to be wrapped around each hand -- I had only been shown once. My trainer was helping another student. Instead of shadow boxing with thin air, I was now asked to hit the punching bag for a solid 15 minutes with no break. When I finished, I told my trainer that I wanted a new trainer. I think my trainer is very knowledgeable about boxing. And, I believe he does know how to train someone with some boxing abilities. But I am a slow learning beginner.

When I finished my boxing lesson, I really wanted to leave and not come back. But I think the best thing to do would be to be direct and tell my trainer the reasons why I want a new trainer. I don't think it would be a fair thing to just complain to his boss without giving him the respect of letting him know beforehand.

After gym, I was in one of my moods. A quick stop to Subway for a footlong tuna sandwich, juice, and 3 macadamia cookies.


Post Date - Wednesday, September 3, 2008 9:57PM
Completion Date - Wednesday, August 6, 2008 11:54PM

Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Lazy Day 2



Today was a partially lazy day. I got up late, and I even went online knowing that I would probably remain in front of this computer like I have for the last few days. Yesterday, from about 6p.m. until about 5:50p.m., I sat in front of my computer. I watched YouTube for most of that time. So what did I watch for most of that time? I watched clips from Red Dwarf and Star Trek DS9.

Red Dwarf was a sci-fi British comedy.





Star Trek - Deep Space Nine (DS9) was a spinoff from the Star Trek franchise.

I'm sure most of you readers know about Star Trek, so I won't bore you with details. Although DS9 was not my favorite Star Trek show, I watched it. I think it got better towards the end with the whole "Dominion War" story arch. Anyway, whole condensed episodes were up loaded to YouTube. I was able to watch the last 3 or 4 years of the show in the space of a few hours. Sorry, I got sidetrack.

Today was a partially lazy day. I got out of bed about 10a.m. I went online for about an hour. And amazingly enough, I was able to pull myself away. While I was online, I ate my oatmeal and drink plain hot green tea (no sugar). I relaxed in the bath for a while which was long overdue. After the bath I walked to the store to buy a few items: milk, orange juice, bread, fruit, etc... I also bought a whole pineapple($3.99). I lately, I've been buying precut fresh pineapples for my fruit smoothies. Today, I looked at the prices of the precut pineapples for $5.00. With the 3lbs. whole pineapple, I can get about 3 or 4 servings out of it. After shopping, I walked back home. So, I got about an hour of exercising from walkint to and from the store. For dinner, I had leftover ground turkey meat with pasta sauce. Yesterday, I was hungry, but too lazy to make spaghetti properly. I basically threw the ingredients into a pot went back to watching YouTube, and returned about 15 or 20 minutes later. The rice was already cooked 2minute reheat in the microwave, and I was eating dinner.

This evening I watched the next installment of the PBS show, "Pioneers of TV - Variety Shows". This is a good series. I almost missed it, but I'm glad I didn't. Next week will be the last part of the series focusing on Game Shows.


Post Date - Saturday, August 16, 2008 10:50PM
Completion Date - Wednesday, July 23, 2008 11:58PM

Wednesday, July 16, 2008

Old Routines Die Hard

Wednesday, July 16th
Today was supposed to be Day 2 of my apartment cleaning. I started today with the best of intentions, but I quickly fell into old habits. I started today with the goal of picking up where I left off from yesterday. I had cold cereal and quickly dressed. I made three trips to the trash compound behind the building complex where I live. I had 7 large black trash bags full, plus my old broken granny cart, broken iron, and other miscellaneous trashed items. After I finished the trash runs, I decided that I would walk up to the local bodega to buy the newspaper and make a withdrawal from the ATM machine. I needed to put some money on my laundry debit card. The washers and dryers in the complex only use debit cards that can be reloaded with $5 being the lowest denomination. Well, being Mr. slow and forgetful, I got the newspaper but forgot about going to the ATM. I didn't feel like going up the hill again at that moment. Then, I decided to go to the nearby park to read my newspaper. Yep, instead of cleaning my room. Although, I did tell myself that I would jump into cleaning just as soon as I finished my newspaper. Well, sitting in the park was nice. I thought about doing it more often. I even thought about getting one of those folding chairs so I would not be limited to a limited selection of dirty benches in shading areas. It was nice, the park was quiet for most of the time I was there. At about 12p.m., people started arriving. Luckily, I was finished reading my newspaper.

When I returned home, I decided to eat a Healthy Choice meal. Then,....

I slipped and told myself that I would just go online to quickly check my email while the meal was in the microwave cooking. Needless to say, about 4 hours later, I was still on the computer.

When I finally go off the computer, I watched the evening news and had dinner. I ate some microwaved rice, ready to eat frozen chicken, and frozen spinach. A dinner plate was finished in about 4 minutes. After dinner I watched another installment of the PBS show, "The Pioneers of Televisions - Late Night Talk Shows". Last week, I watch the other installment of the show, "The Pioneers of Televisions - Early Comedians of TV". After, I made another fruit smoothie. This time, I did not use the book, I just threw some leftover fruit and the last bit of yogurt into the blender. I even washed out the blender when I finished. Now, while I'm typing this blog entry, my bathtub was filling up. Having not bathed in several days, I'm long overdue.


Post Date - Friday, August 8, 2008 9:37PM
Completion Date - Wednesday, July 16, 2008 10:15PM

Wednesday, July 09, 2008

Bill Paying Day

Wednesday, July 9th
Bill Paying Day. Today I should have been cleaning my apartment, but instead I went bill paying and shopping.

I showered and was out the door about 12:30p.m. I took the MN train to Yonkers to go to the bank. My plan was to pay some of my monthly bills. Since they only take cash, I had to get the cash out of my bank account. If I had waited until I got to the check cashing place, then I would have had to take cash out of the ATM machine and have to pay an ATM fee. First bills were gas and telephone, then credit card, and finally Target charge card. Since my bill due dates were today and tomorrow, I need to pay in person so that I would not be charged a late fee.

I took the MN train back home. Then decided that I would go shopping for a few items. Since it was nice out, I decided to walk to the supermarket. About a 25 minute walk. I ended up buying fresh fruit and fresh vegetables. Now, my plan is to try eating a vegetable salad at least a couple of times per day. I also bought a salad spray to hopefully make eating the vegetables easier to eat. After I finished shopping, it started to rain. I waited out the rain, then decided to walk back home, instead of taking the MN train.

So, I ended up spending about $112 in healthy foods. So, when will I start my healthy eating diet and exercising.

Tomorrow. Today, I had an order of fried chicken wings and beef fried rice from a local Chinese Take-out.


Post Date - Monday, July 28, 2008 12:45PM
Completion Date - Wednesday, July 9, 2008 11:17PM

Thursday, June 05, 2008

Wednesday, June 4th
I'm going to try to keep this short. Just a few quick summaries:

* In the daily bulletin the principal made directive about (faculty) not eating in classrooms and offices, due to an increase in mice running rampant throughout the building. However, the pilot program of kids eating in the classroom will continue. So apparently, stopping adults from eating in any other room but the teacher's lounge will stop the sudden increase of mice activity, but kids eating in classrooms won't have any effect.
* My class was a bit hyper. I think I've written that enough times.
* I received 3 make-up periods, which should have made my day an easy day. However, one of the periods was a coverage with the "Spanish" teacher. What happened? His lesson was a crossword puzzle (English) for the 45 minute period. Midway through, the Spanish teacher -- Yes, not a typo. The Spanish teacher and DQ(Drama Queen) were teasing Giggles about her name. The teasing made Giggles upset. So whose feelings got hurt when I yelled to stop the nonsense...

No, not the "Spanish" teacher. But, good guess.

It was DQ. Her feelings were hurt. She was teasing Giggles, but her feelings were hurt. She turned on the waterworks screaming and crying how unfair I was because I told her to stop teasing Giggles. Again, she digs up old incidents from months ago, and even years ago about what Giggles has done to her (both real and imagined). I'm now annoyed that I'm being the babysitter during the time I'm not supposed to be supervising. The class was supposed to be learning Spanish. The purpose of the prep coverage is that another adult is suppose to be dealing with the kids. However, I'm being the one who had to deal with the utter nonsense. While DQ was doing her thing, Mr. S was saying over and over how he had no idea DQ was like that. I'm not sure if he was talking to me or the kids. Anyway, DQ wanted to leave the room to see the guidance counselor...or the nurse depending on who will let her call home. One call, and someone will come pick her up because "her head hurts, her stomach hurts, she can't be in the room with so and so, etc.... Having been privy to this song and dance more times than I care to count, I told her no. So she goes to the back of the room to pout. Since no one is giving her the center stage treatment that she is used to, she called Mr. S to come hear her side of the story. When he doesn't come, she actually goes over to grab him by the hand and leads him to the back of the room. I just watched partly annoyed and partly shocked that her manipulation skills extends to adults. I'm not sure if it was because I was watching or not, but Mr. S just pulls away telling DQ that he can't talk to her at that time. The waterworks start again. She comes back to me wanting to go to the guidance counselor. This time I tell her she can go, but first I told her to tell me her side of the story. Her story involved what Giggles did weeks and months ago, and the threats to attack her family, etc... Once DQ finishes her side, she turns off the waterworks and ask if she can go to the guidance counselor. As soon as she is out the door, Mr. S starts going on about how serious she is, and how she doesn't know when to stop. And recalls the time -- now I know he is talking the the kids. He recalls the time DQ did something similar last year. So my prep period was more of a babysitting period.

* I was out of building about 3:30PM. I got off the MN train one stop early and walked the rest of the way home. I told myself that would be the only exercise I'll get. I know that by the time I get home, I will be too tired to do any exercising. When I got home, I made dinner. While my turkey meat and green beans were being zapped in the microwave, I made some stove top stuffing on the stove. I fell asleep soon after eating dinner. NJ Epal called about 10PM, we talked for about 2 hours.


Post Date - Thursday, July 3, 2008 12:22AM

Wednesday, March 26, 2008


Wednesday, March 26, 2008
OUT OF THE BUILDING AT 4PM!!!
Today was a very nice day. A very nice day. Kind of like a trip day kind of nice day.

Today did not start out nice, in fact I was in a bit of a mood. This week started with a continuation of my poor sleep routines. Last night, I was planning to leave about 4 or 4:30, but after a couple of conversations and copies on the faculty copier, it was 6:30PM. The subway was in its slow-mo routines. Then, I rode the MN train home with a lady who had 5 kids with her. Three of the kids called her "mommy". The kid in the carriage didn't speak. One kid was waving a chicken bone asking his mother for a trash can. A 3 or 4 year old had nail polish, and was playing with it. Even a threat from mom to "punch the kid in the head" didn't deter her from opening the nail polish. I got home and repeated the evening routine I've repeated for the last few weeks. Eat. Sleep. Stress.

This morning, I waited until about 5:30AM before I finally started planning out what I was going to be teaching in a couple of hours. I finished about 6:10AM. By the time I finished my "morning" routine, it was 7:00AM, so I knew I would miss my regular train. That mean another taxis ride. Strange, last week sometime, I got in a taxis that managed to pick me up right in front of the MN train station and caught almost all (yep, almost all) of the lights from the Bronx to Manhattan. I think the taxis missed about 3 lights for the entire trip. It was a beautiful ride. Strange part? Great ride, but bad day. Today the taxi ride was not great (okay, but not great. The guy was a bit slow - catching a lot of lights. Today the work day was nice. The first 45 minutes, I was in a bad mood, and my usuals were in the usual form. After the literacy block, my luck changed. AP2 made an announcement that all of the girls -- that included my girls (Cackler, Giggles, Princess, & Drama Queen) had to report to the auditorium (for what I found out later would be an all-day thing). The purpose was for the girls to do some empowering activities during the day. I thought the idea was a nice one, but a bit poorly executed. Anyway, I lost my girls (for the day), and gain the boys from Ms. Down the Hall (who was absent). Ms. DTH was absent, but there was a sub in her room. The girls were gone, and the lesson plan I had stressed about early this morning, I did not do anything, so that meant that everything would be done tomorrow. So, no stressing tonight! I think a bit of clarification is needed. I was happy about having my disruptive girls out of the room not all girls. I know I would have had a good day if only the top 4 trouble-makers left and the other girls remained. Anyway, it was a good day with no unnecessary drama, cackling, name calling, or arguing.

Today, I was really determined to be out of the building by 4PM. I was ready at 4PM, but then I told Ms. Across the Hall. I ended up waiting about 5 or 10 minutes for her. I enjoyed the walk to the train. The problem was that if I missed the 4:39 MN train, then I would have had to wait until the next 5:16 MN train. Luckily for me, I made the 4:39 train. I was home at 4:59PM!!! Nice! It was a very nice feeling to be home at a reasonable hour. The sun was shining, and temperature was nice also. After eating my Weight Watcher's lasagna meal, I sat down to type up the "blurb" that was asked for. Admin decided a few months ago to start a school newsletter, and recently the secretary (the editor and chief) decided to highlight one grade per issue. This time, it is 3rd grade's turn. I thought it would be nice to put a bit more into the newsletter than the 2 or 3 lines per class inserted into text boxes that was the usual. I was even willing to do it, but I really couldn't get the secretary to understand. I think she thought that I was trying to take a shortcut from the submission by pairing up with another teacher. She told me she wanted to have individual entries. So, before doing this blog entry, I wrote up my newsletter submission. I will attach my submission to this blog entry. I apologizes for my writing skills not being what they should be.*

*The end result was provided once again that I had wasted my time. I think the secretary's computer skills are limited to inserting text into text boxes. All of my formatting (seen in the above picture) was lost.

Well, I think that is about it. I need to get offline now and hopefully get ready for an early bath and bedtime.

Completion Date - Wednesday, March 26, 2008 9:01PM
Post Date - Thursday, May 15, 2008 1:03AM

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

March 5th
A tiring day. After going to bed at 5AM only to get up at 6:20AM, I was tired this morning. I did not even try to make my regular "on time" train. By taking the later train, I knew that I would be paying for a taxi. I managed to arrive on time (even with the MN train moving a bit slower than usual).

Cackler arrived with her (almost) usual spiteful attitude. Princess and Sneak were also in their play/disruptive modes as well.

The Day 2 test was (in my opinion) an easy test.

During test collection, someone from the right side of the classroom threw a pencil eraser at me. The three prime suspects were Giggles, Sneak, and Daze. Each one said "it wasn't me". Each refuse to change their story until I threatened to punish all three, then (reluctantly) Daze and Giggles admitted it was Sneak (others were already telling me that it was Sneak. In the inner-city, there is this "thing" about snitching, each one was willing to admit that it "wasn't them", but were unwilling to give up the culprit. Since it was only a pencil eraser, I wasn't really bothered. However, I am slowly starting to realize how the game is played (I'm a bit slow). In the past, I would have just said something like, "don't do that" and continued collecting the tests. Today, I made a big production about how angry I was, and how Sneak had to leave because I was disgusted. Later I told AP1, at first she said "oh, that is an automatic suspension...write it up". However, I was more interested in sending a quick message rather than jumping through almost a pointless endeavor. Remember last school terms "incident" with the boy who threw a major temper tantrum during lunchtime. The punishment was a suspension that was forgotten. Remember the recent "writing curse words on the wall incident" that was going to be an automatic in-house suspension -- after parents were called and asked permission --and after each of the parents gave permission for the in-house suspension. The suspension was forgotten by admin. I think the message of the teacher going on a tirade and removing the student quickly will...probably have a greater impact than any bureaucratic threat sometime down the line. I photocopied a "detention pack" I'd made from last school year and sent Sneak to another class for to rest of the day. That sort of put the others in a (relatively speaking) better behavior.

During lunch, AP2 called me to inform me that I should have a lesson plan for a sub that would be in my room tomorrow while I (and the other upper grade teachers were doing end term curriculum planning. With a messy desk, and two wasted phone calls to the parents of Sneak and Princess (she was very disruptive shouting, playing, hitting others, rolling on the floor laughing in the hallway, spraying her new asthma pump like it was perfume, but mom only focused on how she (Princess) really should not have been playing with her asthma pump), I ended up leaving school about 8PM, with the idea that I would be returning home, and planning a lesson plan for a sub. I had to wait for the 9:OO MN train, so I went to a local Chinese takeout restaurant and ordered a small lo mein to eat there. I arrived home about 9:40PM. I showered, and fell asleep. I have not even started the lesson plan, so I will most likely do it on the train ride to school in a couple of hours.


Post Date - Tuesday, March 18, 2008 3:18AM

Saturday, February 16, 2008

Wednesday, February 13, 2008
Today was the school field trip to a puppet show. All grades from 3rd to 6th went to the show. Luckily, allowances were made for teachers to leave behind students. I had 5 students to leave behind. A couple of my students were left because their parents probably thought $8 was a lot to spend on a puppet show. Also, I had a few students who just did not show up to school. In total, I only had 7 kids with me (all well-behaved). No Drama. No rude mouths or behavior. No arguing. If I had a class of these kids, teaching would be a joy(with a lot more time spent teaching).

So, how was the show? I had a chance to get out of the building, so I'm not complaining. Unfortunately, I was rushing out of my apartment (as usual), and I left my camera behind. A part of me believed that I would not find anything interesting to take pictures of at a kid's puppet show, but I should have taken it anyway.

Quick Show Summary.
We arrived about 10am. The show was at a high school about a 10 minute cheese bus ride away. The cast was made of "professional" puppetteers, they had various (but not too many)puppets and stuff toys(a couple of puppets were recycled for different acts. In order to appeal to a wide audience, there were various songs ranging from Barney, to 80's songs. During one song, Teachers were asked to get up to do the Electric Slide(a popular 80's dance done frequently at weddings[according to Ms. Across the Hall]). I stayed seated. I think I've mentioned once or twice here on my blog site that I am living proof that not all black people having rhythm. There was also an opportunity for the kids to also get up and dance. I forgot what the song (or the dance) was, but it got a very positive reaction. Overall, I thought the show was cute. Not great. Not bad. It was nice. Ms. Across the Hall dozed off once or twice, however, she had no problem busting a move on the dance floor. I should have brought my camera. From now on, I plan to take my camera whether or not I even plan to take pictures.

The show ended about 11:30am. We were back at the school about 12pm. I'm going to skip the lunch time confusion for the sake of time.


Post Date - Saturday, February 16, 2008 5:27pm

Wednesday, January 02, 2008

Day 1 of the "Me Year". Quick summary. I hope so. Or at least a 30 minute summary.

Last night after spending about an hour cutting up the large cardboard box into 17 frames, I cut my hair, then shaved my head. Due to the time, I had to settle for a shower instead of a bath. I was in bed by 11:17pm. Unfortunately, I think my subconscious was at work over the return to work because I didn't sleep well. I was wide awake by 3:33am. I only dozed on and off throughout the night.

Today, I was out of bed at about 6:10am. I caught my "on time" train, then transferred to the #1 train in the Bronx. Unfortunately, an extremely loud lady was having a very adult conversation with her grandson. She just went on, and on about (probably) to boy's father and how he (the father) was low down and dirty. Then, she went into this long drawn out explanation about how the "dirty dog" had to have been the one to do something or other with the phone. Then went into details about how incriminating evidence is difficult to remove from a phone if you are not careful. A 20 minute ride and she wouldn't shut up.

My kids for the first couple of periods were sleepy angels too tired to do much of anything disruptive. Unfortunately the sleepiness wore off. Then the old behavior came back with a vengeance. Princess Peanut (formally beady betty, formally temper tantrum tina) is just spoiled rotten that is all that I can say.

Today, AP1 called my class phone to inform me that a special ed student would be mainstreamed in my classroom during Math because (according the AP1) the student can be quite a talker but she (AP1) knows that I am a "no nonsense" teacher that won't tolerate the girl's talkative behavior. Really?!?! If she wanted a "no nonsense" teacher than she should have put the girl in the 3rd grade class down the hall. However, I think "Down the Hall" would have raised a stink. And Across the Hall was absent today, she had to handle some personal business. Luckily for me, a substitute teacher was assigned, so I did not have any extra kids.

Uh Oh. 9 more minutes left.

Well, I was out of school at about 4:56pm. :) I arrived at the Bronx with about 10 minutes before the MN would arrived, but I spent too much time in Rite Aid and missed the train. Since I had about 20 minutes to kill, I went to Target to buy a timer for home and another for my classroom. I managed to catch the 6:03pm MN train. I returned with about 4 minutes to spare before the Southbound train to Yonkers would arrived. So, I had no time to change clothes. I grabbed my gym bag which has been sitting on my dresser for the last 4 months packed ready to go. So....

After about 15 or 20 years, I have finally returned to the gym. I arrived a bit lost, so I asked for another tour of the place, and I in the end, I ended up buying 5 sessions with a personal trainer. Considering how lost I felt, I am not going to count the $100 expensive as a waste of money. If the personal trainer helps me get off to a good start with the gym, then I think it is money well spent. I have only one minute to go, so I will write about my 20 minute trial session another time.

Finally, I returned home about 9:12pm. Weight Watchers for dinner.


Post Date - Wednesday, January 2, 2008 10:47pm

Wednesday, December 26, 2007


Today was apartment cleaning day (part 1). I only scratched the surface today. The living room was my main focus today. First up, I did a bit of furniture rearrangement. I moved my computer away from the window area. I think I have a bit of arthritis in my right arm. Lately, when I sit at the computer, I feel a bit of pain. Also, I like the idea of new year new layout. My computer is now in the corner on the opposite wall where the shelving units used to be. After removing everything that I've been shoving into the shelving units over the past couple of months, I washed the units down. Then organized my books. The shelving units are now on opposite sides of the main window, as oppose to being together on the opposite wall. Now, one unit is for professional items and the other is for personal items. The unit on the left will have school related books and materials. The unit on the right will have my commuter reading material and personal items (like my yearbooks, manuals, etc...) I'll attach a photo of my commuter reading material. In the photo, the books on the bottom are books that I've already read. On the top left, are paperback books I've read. On the top right are books I haven't read yet.

Yesterday, I ordered a two-draw file cabinet from Staples, it should arrive tomorrow. The file cabinet will go between my computer and the card table I'm using as a dining room table. Yesterday, I almost bought a copier machine for home use. I am tired of not having access to a copy machine nearby.

Tomorrow will be paper throwing away day. I decided that I will throw away anything that I have not or will not use within a 6 month time frame. Also, I will throw away all the worksheets that I used last school year. I really want 2008 to be the year I "get it together". These last few months have been a stress-filled daze. I can't continue like I have been for these last few months. Oh cleaning up, I actually found a pack of ink for my printer. These last couple of weeks of my printing in blue because I believe that I did not have anymore black ink. This is why I need to clean up, I have to have a neat place. I am one of those people who has to have a place for everything, and everything in its place. When things are not in an easy accessible place, I will forget about it, or I start creating piles (until the piles become mounds that merge into the mess I've been living in).

If everything goes well, then the next few days will follow this way:

Thursday - Living room clean (part 2), paper organizing, cleaning the kitchen
Friday - Lesson planning (goal is at least 2 weeks)
Saturday - Back to the mall (this time shopping for me)
Sunday - Bathroom and bedroom cleaning, and lesson planning at least 2 weeks
Monday - grading student work and doing progress report.
Tuesday - I am not sure, but I do know I don't want to think about school

Ii would be nice if I could tackle cleaning in one day and lesson planning/grading in one day as well. Unfortunately, when I have to do something I don't want to do, my mind turns to mush.

Well, I better go, these last few days I still have not managed to be in bed before midnight.


Post Date - Wednesday, December 26, 2007 11:12PM

Wednesday, December 19, 2007


I just returned home about an hour ago. I better keep is short, the sandman is already singing his song.

Today was actually a relatively nice day, about 4 of my students were absent. Three of them were my regular headaches, the fourth was the Drama Queen. Also, my phone call to Cackler's mother seemed to have done the trick...for now. Today, the principal officially cancelled the new literacy program until after the State ELA Exams on January 9th. Today the principal had a grad-level meeting in her office for each grade during the teacher's preparation period to discuss the results of the last "predicative" test. I'm going to avoid the details here...for the sake of time. :)

After the meeting which had begun with the statement, "I won't keep you very long". lasted until 8 minutes before we were due to pick up our classes. At that point, the new school "data analysis" decided to show the teachers "strategies" that we can use to help our kids upstairs in her office. I'm thinking it would be something related to the assessment program that was the basis for our meeting. It turned out to be links to Channel 13 PBS website. It didn't take us 8 minutes.

After the meeting, my kids were invited to a repeat of the musical performance that I'd skipped yesterday trying out a differentiated lesson plan. By the time the show was over, there was only about 20 minutes until lunch. :)

Since AP1 forgot to order the pizza for my class --The reward for my students (and myself) for not whining about having Ms. Across the Hall's whole class combined with mine the day ATH was absent. AP1 said that she would order the pizza tomorrow. I now have my "holiday party". :)

The day ended without me yelling...I think. Parents and pick-ups were all on time.:) Did I mention having a smile on my face at the end of the day?

Unfortunately, bad habits die hard. I didn't get out of the building until about 6:33PM. In the Bronx, I finally went shopping at the 99 cent store for gifts for my students (the "relatively" good kids). Strange, I seem to remember a time when it was students buying gifts for the teacher, but maybe it is just my imagination. Anyway, a couple of teachers mentioned giving gifts to their students, so like the lemming that I am, I am doing the same. The other 3rd grade teacher mentioned using points from the book club for "gifts". ATH mentioned the dollar store. I went with the dollar store idea. The hard part was buying a crappy gift and making it seem like it is not a crappy gift. After a while of mental block in the aisle of the store. I finally got my "gift" idea. The boys would get a Spider man themed gift (coloring book, and a pencil set[2 pencils, sharpener, eraser, and small notepad]). I got stuck with the girls' gift. It had to appear to be of the same "quality and components". I did find the Hello Kitty coloring book but I couldn't find anything nice looking to match. Both coloring books are only about 8 pages including 2 sticker pages. With all of the other names I've been called, I didn't want cheapskate added to the list. After staring at the wall of merchandise, a Disney diary with lock seemed to appear. Unfortunately, there were only two. However, after a trip to Target's dollar shelves, I found my girls' gift. The girls are getting a Tweety! coloring/activity book, and a Hello Kitty pocket notebook...both a dollar each. So, I ended up taking both ideas from the other 3rd grade teachers. With my "dollar" gifts, each (relatively "good")child receives a free Magic School bus mini chapter book that I've been saving for just this occasion. I received the set with my first order at the book club the other 3rd grade teacher recommended. The "Button Pushers" only get the Magic School Bus as a gift.

Since I finished at Target at 8:19PM (one minute before the MN train would arrive), I had to settle for killing 40 minutes. I ended up going to Starbucks for a gift card for AP2. She doesn't smile very much, but for some strange reason, she always gives me books and materials for my classroom that other teachers don't get, it is probably because I am a bit of a pack rat, and she knows I won't say no. Anyway, the materials are nice and very useful, so I thought she deserved a thank you. And after a trip to the Rite Aid card section, I was planning to go to C-Town food store to buy some "extras" for the "class party", but the store was closed. by the time I reached the MN street, I had about 10 minutes to kill. Since I had Chinese take out yesterday (beef with broccoli), I wasn't really in the mood for Chinese Food. I ended up choosing the "new" teriyaki chicken ($2.75). It turns out they deep fried it. I gotta stop eating at those Chinese restaurants. I'm beginning to think those are just ghetto imitations. Almost everything seems to be deep-fried. The Chinese restaurant near my home even deep fries their "grilled" chicken.

Well, I better go. Two more days to go! :)


Post Date - Thursday, December 20, 2007 1:58AM*
* The post date is not accurate this time because I fell asleep here in my chair.

Thursday, December 06, 2007

Hyper Day!!! Today was training day. For my group, training was in the afternoon. Training was for the new literacy program, that we are currently using the old materials for. Thinking about today as a half day did not help. My kids were super hyper today. Actually, not all, just the handful (the usual characters [Sticky fingers, Beady Betty, The Cackler etc...). Also, I had no preparation period, which also doubles as a sanity recuperative period. I tried to keep the routines as regular and consistent, but the characters were having none of that. Cackler arrived late, and as soon as she walked through the do Beady Betty does a quick, "Yes!" out loud. The party was on. Those two kept going back and forth as if my class was their social club. My problem is that these type of students often require immediate correction and/or attention, the problem is when and where. In the past, I've stopped to correct the behavior, but I find that they seem to enjoy and/or get off on the extra attention (yes, even if it is negative). Threats worked (a bit) for Beady Betty. However, The Cackler just does not seem to care about much. Her catch phrase is "I don't care", and she really doesn't seem to. Cackler likes to argue, and does not mind of the lesson stops. Sometimes, I ignore Cackler because she feeds on negativity like a Hoover sucks up dirt. If I give positive attention, then she gets greedy, and stubborn if she doesn't get more than her fair share. After a couple of hours she just kept going at it. Finally, the last straw. She got up and walked out of the...sorry, my classroom! Without even bothering to ask. Then came back, slamming the door, laughed saying, "Oh, I'm sorry". Then cackles cackles on her way back to her seat. Then decides she wants to sweep. I told her to "GET OUT!!!!". I almost lost it. I said, "I hate....her behavior! Nice girl, but I HATE HER BEHAVIOR". I sent her to Ms. Across the Hall. After she left, things went a bit smoothly. Unfortunately, I soften up, and asked her back after I finished with the lesson. I really, really didn't want her back. Later as the class was lining up for lunch, I noticed her happily carrying her new Care Bears lunch bag. I politely called her over, told politely asked for her lunch bag...then very unprofessionally, I tore into her. I went into raving ranting lecture about how she steals (time) from me, so I'm taking her lunch. If she can take from me, then I can take from her. She cried, and I smiled.

Since I had no prep. And my afternoon would be in a wasted training session. I needed lunch time to gathered my mental strength. Normally I would have called home during lunch, but I have a bad habit of getting sidetrack at my expense. I wanted and needed the break.

Would you believe Cackler had the nerve to come to my room during the lunch period to ask for her lunch back. Although I was not as angry as before -- I have a bad habit of not staying angry for very long. Bad habit because the kids often see that as a weakness, not a strength. Anyway, I wasn't angry, but I instantly became annoyed at the nerve.

Afternoon...Do I really need to go into details about "training"? I didn't think so.

After 3PM, I chatted with Ms. Across the Hall. I shuffled a few papers and ate some instant oatmeal, and before I knew it, it was 5PM. Since my headaches go to the after school program at school. I decided to wait in the lobby for a little bit of mini conferences. Last one, Sticky finger's mother ended up coming about 5:30PM. Since she had told me that it was her father who was picking her up, I was going to wait as long as necessary. Waste of time. I mentioned the behavior. I mentioned the lack of commitment to work. I mentioned test daughter didn't take due to playing. Mom was just annoyed that I was keeping her. Her suggestion was that anytime her daughter misbehaves, I should keep her in the classroom with me. Waste of time.

I finished about 6:15PM. I fell into the timing trap. I have a bad habit of trying to time things "just right". I realize that I would not catch the 6:48 MN train. So, I shuffled some more papers. I was also going to call Cackler's mother. However, before I knew it, it was about 6:50PM. Usually it takes about ten minutes to walk to the first train station, then about 18 minutes to ride to the MN station. I timed it pretty good, except the train starts slowing as it approaches my station, "due to train traffic ahead of us". I arrived in the Bronx just as the MN train goes by. So now I have about another 30 minutes to kill. I go to Target store to buy some milk. I arrive home about 8:16PM.

Dinner was a "Smart Meal" and an iced bun. I have a bad habit of eating junk food when bored, annoyed and hungry. By the posting time below, you can figure out the rest.


Post Date - Thursday, December 6, 2007 3:53AM

Wednesday, November 21, 2007


Well, I made it to another weekend. This one is a four-day weekend, also carrying the hope of me getting organized. I will be at my father's place for Thanksgiving. My plan is to do some lesson planning there. My goal is to make Thursday and Friday school work days, and Saturday and Sunday "me" work days(shopping and cleaning). I'm am trying again for a months worth of lesson plans along with homework sheets for four or five weeks.

About my "Turkey" bulletin board. I only got one compliment(from Ms. Across the Hall). I did see a couple of teachers sort of looking at it indirectly, but neither said anything. I think the bulletin board came out better than I thought it would, but I still think that it isn't one of my better displays.

My work day. No real drama. With about 2 hours of sleep (5 if you count the crash and burned sleep after dinner), I missed my morning train. I managed to get ready, dress with my coat on, when I looked at my watch. I had about a minute to run to the train. However, I did not feel like running, so I decided to take the later train. At the Bronx, I took a ($15) taxi cab ride to school. I arrived with about 5 minutes to spare (enough time to take my things upstairs then turn around and pick up my students). Today, AP2 had her upper grade feast. Any student who brought something could join. I had about 8 kids go. With the rest, I had the remaining students begin working on their portfolio dividers(photocopiables that can be used to separate the different sections in their portfolios).


Post Date - Wednesday, November 21, 2007 11:50PM

Saturday, October 13, 2007

Wednesday, October 10, 2007
Rainy morning. Again, I missed my "early" train. This morning the "new" reading program started. The new learning groups were in the teacher's mailboxes this morning. We found out then and there that we would not have any of our regular kids. My group? I would have a group of 4th and 5th graders. My reading level group? 2.2 Yes, that is a second grade reading level. There was more than a few "WTF"s including me. The announcement was that we would be having our "new groups" for a full 90 minutes. I have to be honest. I am responsible for a part of the confusion and lack of preparation. I knew that eventually the "new" program would start. With no official start date, and weeks of "the program will start soon". I got comfortable with not thinking about the program. I tried to be as professional as possible, I had a "do now" activity, that gave me 5 to 10 minute prep time. I found the training book for the program and the teacher's guide. I skimmed them quickly, then photocopied a few pages(about 12) about getting started with the program. I made copies for "Across the Hall"(third grade teacher and a second grade teacher (also across the hall). Problem? The training manual and the teacher's guide mentioned the first couple of weeks are "getting along" cooperative building activities, but without the activities.

So with some teachers seemingly a bit lost, I managed to quickly put my students on task and productive (while I organized the program materials that I did have), and I assisted a couple of other teachers. While the kids are doing a third grade reading comprehension activity, the principal walks in, " that's not the program materials", and walks out.

After the 90 minute "new" literacy block, I gave my regular students the math unit one test. Today was also the start of the "spider making" art project. For one reason or another, the felt material wasn't accepting the glue and would not stick. After school, I reglued each of the students' 16 spiders using a hot glue gun.

There was a PTA meeting that I'd forgotten about. I stayed for the meeting (one of 3 teachers with about 6 or 7 parents attending) I was out about 6:30pm. In the Bronx, I went to Target to buy more glue and Weight Watchers Smart Meals (on sale 3 for $5). For dinner, I had a smart meal with a couple of slices of plain wheat bread.


Post Date - Saturday, October 13, 2007 11:18pm

Sunday, October 07, 2007

Wednesday, October 3, 2007
The kids were (relatively) okay. Today was a fairly easy-going day. It is nice not having the "personalities" that I had last year. Not much to write about today. The meeting with the parent was postponed until Thursday. AP1 told me that a "bigwig is coming for a meeting with the principal, and she should be there". I'm going to pass on reading between the lines on that one. :)

Today, the college intern came. I have to say I am happy that she has started to warm up a bit. I don't know if I mentioned the college intern. Part of the process for getting a degree in education requires field work in the classroom. This intern will be my third since I've been at this school. I think there are about thirty this fall semester. Quick summary of my interns:

#1 - (Fall 2006)Young woman, early 20's(African-American). Nice. Eager to assist. Messy penmanship.
#2 - (Spring 2007)Older gentleman, early to mid 50's(European-American). "Had to be there because of a class requirement." Hid in the back of the room.
#3 - (current)Young woman, early 20's (Hispanic - specifics unknown). Bad first impression, but has started feeling comfortable in the classroom. First comment/first impression? Arrived in the middle of a lesson, "I have to observe math lessons. I will sit in the back of the room. I have to interview a student." At first, I thought she was some kind of administrator in training. Very cold and impersonal. She had the same "shell-shocked look" as intern #2.

Today, intern #3 felt more comfortable and sat at a table with the students. And even felt comfortable with telling "Beady Betty" to stop talking. On top of incessant speaking (not talking but speaking), she rattles the beads in her hair like a mad maraca. She will talk to anyone and everyone. And when there is no one she will often start speaking out loud. To be honest, I can't tell you how many times, I've visualize duct tape when she starts her rantings. No, this is not "Sticky fingers Freda" (another duct tape candidate). Of course I am not going to act on the "duct tape fantasies", but a guy can't stop the mental images. :)

School ended the same as in previous days. At home about 8pm. For dinner, I had beef lo mein from the local Chinese restaurant near the MN station.

Well, that's it for now.



Post Date - Sunday, October 7, 2007 3:08pm

Thursday, September 27, 2007

Another bit of a relapse. This week was suppose to be me getting organized, but from the posting time, you can see that I have fallen into my old habit. This week, I have been falling asleep within about an hour of arriving home, only to be up at 2 or 3 in the morning. This morning (or would that be yesterday's morning), I was up until about 5am, then slept for about an hour. I missed my early train, so I had to take the later train to work.

As for work, the stress is the same, but much less. Same nonsense, but much less. I hate to admit (because it could change at any time), I have a much better group of kids this year. My problem is that I am not enjoying the benefit as much as I could. I am really going to have to get out of this negative sleep pattern.

On Friday, I agreed to participate in the admin's "curriculum night". Teachers set up displays in the gym and parents come to listen to a presentation about what is being taught. The other two third grade teachers didn't want to participate. Actually, neither did I. I really don't like the micromanaged style of this admin. In other schools (I've been to), "Open House" is where parents are invited to come in and look around. Here, "Open House" is at assigned hours for assigned grades, where the parents come in and sit in the back of the room during the lesson. Now, another day has been created for what could have been done in a single day.

About 4:30pm, an office staffer stopped by my classroom to give me a sign and a blank presentation board. If I was smart, I would not have even been in the building at that time. I just left the board there. I wasn't about to do any display decorating that evening. When I get to school, I won't have any time during the day to do decorating, and this "curriculum night" will be from 3pm to 5pm.

Enough about school. I still have not gotten around to setting up my laptop for grading and classroom administration organization. The tech guy/computer teacher has volunteered to set up my laptop for wireless connection, but I haven't gotten around to sending it to him. He clearly knows computer stuff, but at the same time, he seems to fumble through things from time to time. He told me that he has to download drivers. The couple of times I've turned on the laptop, there is an annoying flashing message that wireless is available. One time, I did click and there were a lists of wireless connections (about 6 "secured" and one free). A part of me doesn't care because the laptop will only be used in my classroom for classroom stuff, but at the same time, I am a bit (just a bit) particular about my things.

Wrap up. I finished school about 3:15. I am usually a few minutes early dismissing my students. Dismissal time is a madhouse. Basically only the front two main entrances can be used. Actually that is a major improvement. When I first started working at this school a couple of years ago, only one exit (the main entrance to the building could me used (rain or shine). Now, that was a mad house in the extreme. Sorry, I got sidetracked.

I will usually wait until about 10 or 15 minutes after 3pm before I leave the "non pick ups" at the security guards area. After dismissal, I chatted/vented with the other 3rd grade teacher. We are now exactly across the hall from each other. When I call her (on the phone), I can see her getting up to answer the phone. My door is in the front of my room, her door is at the back of her room. And no, I don't call often.

After chatting, and resting. I finally got the energy to get up and start getting my room in order for tomorrow. I wash the board and put up the morning do now on the board. I also clean off my desk at the end of each day. If I don't clean off my desk, my desk would look like my apartment (piles and piles of well organized messes). Usually, I like having everything layed out that I will need for the next day. Anyway, about 6pm, the Firedrill bell began to ring. That is the custodians' way of saying "get out" now. I stopped off at the store to buy snack for my good students. This year, I want to move away from food rewards, but at the moment, it is too convenient to give up. Hopefully, I will be starting at the gym next week, so I will need to change the reward to avoid "temptation".

I got home about 7:30pm. I was too tired to fit dinner. Actually, I was too tired to even microwave dinner. I ended up eating a couple of bowls of cold cereal. I fell asleep about 8:30pm. I was up again about 2am. I will try to shower and and lay down for a couple of hours. I will try to be in bed by 4:20am. These last couple weeks, I have been able to take the earlier train, which allows me a relaxing 45 minutes in the morning to get organized in my classroom. However, yesterday (and today), I will have to take the later train, which only gives me 15 or 10 minutes set up time.

Well, I better go. Long day today.


Post Date - Thursday, September 27, 2007 3:59am

Thursday, August 23, 2007

Wednesday
Today was a day of annoyances. Well, after playing with my Playstation, I am now going to try writing a quick entry.

Today, was my appointment for my x-rays. I was up about 8am. Since I had not showered or bathe in days, skipping a bath was not an option. Unfortunately, I stayed playing solitaire until about 9:45am. I was in the bath (I still had water in the tub because I never got into the bath when I'd planned to yesterday). I finally got in the bath about 9:55am. I was in, out, dressed and ready for the Metro-North train. When I arrived at the station, I was on the usually off-peak schedule (one per hour), but the train was still on the rush hour schedule. I had to wait for the 9:50 train (there was not a 9:29 train). Luckily, the medical center was not far. I arrived with a minute to spare. I have a problem with time. I like to know the exact time to be somewhere. Unfortunately, once I know the exact time, it is difficult for me to change my travel patterns. As long as the trains are on time, or at least operating on a regular schedule, then I arrive on time. I knew it would take about 40 minutes to reach the medical center.

The x-rays were uneventful. I was told to call them in a couple of days for the results. I am going to ask for a written report. I will feel more comfortable with some kind of written report, than a vague telephone call, that I won't remember a month from now.

After, the x-rays, I decided to head over to my school to start getting my classroom together. I hopped back on the #1 train and took it to 125th street. Since it was lunch time, I decided to eat lunch at the Subway's on 125th street and Broadway. I settled on the hot pastrami 6in sandwich. I was a bit annoyed that they did not have a couple of my regular ingredients. I forgot to buy a water to drink with my sandwich, so I bought a low-fat strawberry milk . I ate in the restaurant. I was about to drink the strawberry milk that was supposed to have 2% milk. I was shocked and annoyed when I took the time to read the label. I thought I was at least drinking a little bit healthy buying the strawberry 2% milk.

Would you believe that milk had 300 calories and 45 carbohydrates.

That so called "healthy kid's choice" had almost the same amount of calories as half of a greasy hamburger. I was annoyed that the milk had so much calories, so I threw it away.

After lunch, I walked to school. I arrived to find out that no one was there. The custodian told me that admin. would not arrive until a day before the teachers are supposed to arrive. It annoyed me that I had an opportunity to come a little early and I would not be able to take advantage of the motivation. I arrived with pride that I was being a good teacher, but I left feeling stupid and having wasting my time. This is a school that seems to thrive on last minutes. Last minute decisions, last minute preparations, last minute notification...I think you get the picture.

On my way home, I stopped at the Bronx's Target store to briefly look around before it was time to catch my train. I got off in Yonkers to buy some skim milk and orange juice. My blood pressure medicine recommends taking a glass of orange juice with the tablet. I also bought some chicken and wheat bread.

When I got home, I watched the afternoon court shows on TV. Then I decided to hook up my Playstation 2. I decided to bake the chicken while I set up my PS2. It took me about 30 minutes to get the game to start. I tried God of War II. That game was way, way over my head. When it takes someone 5 minutes to decide what sandwich to order, that video game was not the best investment to make. I was doing so poorly on normal setting that after the 10 or 15th time dying, the game stopped and asked if I wanted to try an easier level. I tried the easier level, and...the result was the same.

After a couple of hours, I decided to take a break from the video game. Unfortunately, due to playing the video game, I burnt my chicken. It was still eatable, just a bit burnt around the edges. I microwaved some rice and spinach with my burnt chicken. After dinner, I watched some TV. I watched an interesting program on PBS on the rise and fall of Islamic Spain. It was very interesting. It wasn't until college, I learned that Spain was invaded by Muslims from the north of Africa. This show provide much more details that I received in college. In college, I got the impression the Muslims were in for a few years and then they were kicked out. According to the program, the Muslims were in Spain for thousands of years. Their presence affected the food, culture, and even architecture. Very interesting!

After the PBS program, I decided to briefly try my Fantastic Four PS2 game. The FF game was more my speed. It gave you a task to do as opposed to fighting your way out of a corner. In the God of War game, I spent most of my time fight walls, running into walls, and getting swatted against the same walls for most of the time. Oh, and the game is a bit violent. When I bought the PS2, I depended on the store clerk to recommend a title. Considering the clerk was most likely a 20-something kid, I should have known better.

Well, it is late. I better go.


Post Date - Thursday, August 23, 2007 1:42am